Can you make fist strikes in full plate?


Rules Discussion

Dark Archive

So I'm experimenting with extremely silly magus sentinel build that dumbs dexterity completely to compensate with bulkwark bonuses. I'm curious if its possible to use laughing shadow's free hand non free-hand damage bonus in full plate because it comes with gauntlets?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
You must have your other hand completely free; the extra damage doesn't apply if you have a free-hand weapon or other item in that hand, even if you would normally be able to use the hand for other things.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
HumbleGamer wrote:
Quote:
You must have your other hand completely free; the extra damage doesn't apply if you have a free-hand weapon or other item in that hand, even if you would normally be able to use the hand for other things.

AH, I missed that. Looks like you have to remove one gauntlet.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I guess technically no, you would have to remove the gauntlet part of the full plate.

But since it doesn't affect the mechanics of the full plate to do so, I would simply rule it works.

Dark Archive

I realized I worded my question badly x'D Dang my articulation! This is what I wanted to ask: Can you remove the gauntlet from full-plate?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
CorvusMask wrote:
I realized I worded my question badly x'D Dang my articulation! This is what I wanted to ask: Can you remove the gauntlet from full-plate?

I think you're physically capable of doing so but I THINK what you mean is 'does it affect the stats of the armor if you do' right? If so, I don't see why it'd change anything: I wouldn't lower your AC if you took your helmet off for a hat.


5 people marked this as a favorite.

Seems they are just some extra.

"Buy your full plate now, and get 2 gauntlets and a padded armor for free! "


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Sometime Pathfinder's abstractions drive the simulations in me nuts. :-)


Ed Reppert wrote:
Sometime Pathfinder's abstractions drive the simulations in me nuts. :-)

All the magic, spells, supernatural abilities, and anything else that isn't actually possible must really drive you nuts then, right?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Not really. And I meant to type "simulationist". Stupid spell chucker.

Well, actually, I'm coming from a more simulationist game system (Harnmaster, aka HM) where magic exists, but is fairly rare, and the Shek-Pvar (mages) have a "law" that if you throw your magic around too obviously, they'll send the White Hand after you -- and the White Hand tends to react violently and give no quarter. So it's quite different to Pathfinder. But what instigated my earlier comment was the bit about "full plate". Armor in HM is piecemeal. There is no "full plate". Also, armor mitigates the impact of weapons. Whatever impact gets through the armor causes injuries -- cuts, bruises, broken bones, what have you. Magical healing is rare. Physicians know more than medieval Terran ones did (though often they don't know the *why*, just the how). Still healing can take a while, and infection is a serious danger.

See. Simulationist. :-) Still, my favorite character in HM is a Weaponcrafter -- and a Jmorvi Shek-Pvar. (Jmorvi is the Convocation of Artifice and Metal). He doesn't spend his time crawling through dungeons much. He's usually either making some fancy weapon (which can take weeks) or researching new spells (which can take even longer).


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

On the original question, I'm not sure that wearing full plate is equivalent to having a gauntlet in your hand (or in each hand, actually). See, to me, you're *wearing* the gauntlet(s). So hitting someone when you're in full plate is just like hitting them wearing (very hard) boxing gloves (or hand wraps). I don't think your magus has to remove his gauntlets to strike with his fist. That's off the top of my head, I haven't dived into the rules on it.


I guess my point is that magic (and magic adjacent things) isn't internally consistent in a way that really makes sense from a simulationist perspective.

So in my mind, it should bother you.

But you handwave it because "it's magic". But you want to apply deep realism to things we do have in our reality and have an understanding of.

Even if makes for a deeply unplaying and ultimately unsatisfying game for most people, except for those who really love rolling to determine which part of the body is hit, looking at how much armor you might have on that part, consulting how effective that armor is against the type of weapon/damage being done, etc.

If I wanted that much detail, I'd just go back to reality.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

To each his own.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber
Ed Reppert wrote:
I haven't dived into the rules on it.
Full Plate wrote:
A suit of this armor comes with an undercoat of padded armor and a pair of gauntlets.
Gauntlet (weapon) wrote:

A pair of these metal gloves comes with full plate, half plate, and splint armor; they can also be purchased separately and worn with other types of armor. They not only protect your hands but also transform your hands into lethal weapons.

Traits Agile, Free-Hand
Laughing Shadow wrote:
. . . the extra damage doesn't apply if you have a free-hand weapon or other item in that hand, even if you would normally be able to use the hand for other things.

However, while not explicitly addressed, I would rule that you can remove the gauntlets without affecting your AC, bulwark bonus, or any other stat. You need to remove them to use other mundane gauntlets (e.g., bladed gauntlets) and magical gauntlets.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Can you make fist strikes in full plate? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.