Retrieval Prism vs Dragonbone Arrowhead


Rules Discussion


So Retrieval Prism says:

Quote:

This triangular prism showing swirling black patterns inside constantly moves around on your armor, no matter where you affix it. As part of the process of Affixing this Talisman, you attune it to a single item of 1 Bulk or less. When you activate this talisman, the attuned item immediately teleports into your hand.

The retrieval prism can't retrieve an item that's not on your plane, including one that's in an extradimensional space like a bag of holding. If you haven't expended the talisman, you can attune it to a different item by Affixing the Talisman again.
(Arcana, Nature, Occultism or Religion) DC 27

You don’t need to attune the prism. It can retrieve any item in your possession of 1 Bulk or less, chosen when you activate the prism.

Dragonbone Arrowhead says:
Quote:
This arrowhead, carved from dragon bone, hangs off the shaft of your weapon. When you activate this talisman, until the end of the current turn, the affixed weapon gains the thrown 20 feet weapon trait, and when you make a thrown Strike with it, it flies back to your hand after the Strike completes. If your hands are full when the weapon returns, it falls to the ground in your space.

Couldn't I just use the Retrieval Prism to do what the Dragonbone Arrowhead does?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Retrieval Prism does not grant the weapon the thrown trait, nor does it allow you to retrieve an item that is not in your possession with the greater version.

If the weapon already has the thrown trait, then the upside of the Dragonbone Arrowhead is only that it will return if you Strike with it multiple times in one round.


Thanks

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Retrieval Prism vs Dragonbone Arrowhead All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.