Pathfinder 1e hungry pit rules questions. Pls help


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I will try to lay out scenario as best I can, looking for input as to what the proper ruling should be.

There is a room 5ft high. With an opening to the floor above. Hungry pit is cast in that room, dropping target and flying summon (summon was standing on ground). They fail and fall, on their turn. They fly 50 ft up. To what would be the second floor that had the opening from the first. Pit is on the first floor, right below the opening

Argument 1- the space on the second floor is within 5 ft of the pit diagonally, therefore reflex or fall back into pit. Because that floor is also sloped.

Argument 2- the sloped spaces are on the 1st floor because it says "edges of the pit", not the second. Therefore no chance to fall from spell

The wording that brought about the argument-
"In addition, the edges of the pit are sloped, and any creature ending its turn on a square adjacent to the pit must make a Reflex saving throw with a +2 bonus to avoid falling into it."

Paizo Employee Customer Service Representative

Moved from 3rd Party product questions to PF1e Rules Questions

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The second interpretation is the correct one.

Only the ground around the pit on the first floor is sloped. It's a horizontal surface. The second floor has not been affected by the pit spell, so anyone standing up there does not have to attempt the save.

There's some other stuff I'm idly curious about:

Spoiler:
50' is a significant height. Getting that high in one turn would require a double move with a fly speed of 50 or more.

How deep was the pit? The pit spells are all multiples of 10' deep, so getting up to that second floor from the bottom would require a 55' move if the pit was 50'.

Why didn't it just stay flying once the pit was cast? That avoids the pit entirely (and any future pits cast during the combat).


I agree with Belafon (option 2).

I am also curious about the stuff they were curious about (with the possible exception of "why not keep flying" - fighting in combat can require some skill checks that can be fairly difficult if you maneuverability is not great).

_
glass.


Belafon wrote:

The second interpretation is the correct one.

Only the ground around the pit on the first floor is sloped. It's a horizontal surface. The second floor has not been affected by the pit spell, so anyone standing up there does not have to attempt the save.

There's some other stuff I'm idly curious about:
** spoiler omitted **

I believe the pit was 40' deep, so the 50 fly was just enough to get up on top of the second level, but not enough to fly free and clear of the pit entirely. It was a rider on a mount (an enemy). Because there was some arguing over which was true, dm just changed it to the mount didn't land, so the enemy was just hovering above the pit

I agree that the 2nd ruling was the correct one. But he was arguing the word "adjacent" while assuming that the target square was the square you would be standing on before the pit opened up below you, making it "adjacent" to the 2nd floor that was only 1 square up.

The target square would be the square in the opening of the pit (underground) though, not in the air above it.

Sorry this was a while ago, so I'm trying to recall as best I can. My wording might be hard to understand as well

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Pathfinder 1e hungry pit rules questions. Pls help All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.