Shove Failure


Rules Discussion


On page 240 of the Core Rulebook, it says "Most skills include entries for success and failure, as well as descriptions of what occurs on a critical success or a critical failure. If either of the critical entries is absent, treat those results as a success or failure, as normal."
What about in the case where there is a critical failure but not a normal failure?
For example, the shove action (p. 243). Critical success, success, and critical failure are all defined. I'm assuming that a failure is equal to a critical failure, but I'd like some sort of backing for that aside from (what I see as) common sense.
Thanks!


A failure is just that: you failed to Shove. It's the same thing as if you failed to Strike: that just means you didn't hit. When "a failure is equal to a critical failure" is in the Failure section with an entry: "If either of the critical entries is absent, treat those results as a success or failure, as normal" which means what you want to do with a missing failure check but the other direction. It's not written as 'If either of the critical entries is present, use it's result for a success or failure.'


Zaxbeez wrote:

On page 240 of the Core Rulebook, it says "Most skills include entries for success and failure, as well as descriptions of what occurs on a critical success or a critical failure. If either of the critical entries is absent, treat those results as a success or failure, as normal."

What about in the case where there is a critical failure but not a normal failure?
For example, the shove action (p. 243). Critical success, success, and critical failure are all defined. I'm assuming that a failure is equal to a critical failure, but I'd like some sort of backing for that aside from (what I see as) common sense.
Thanks!

You are assuming wrong. Failure means you don't produce an effect, both from common sense and ... common sense when reading the rules. I guess they thought it this obvious to not explicitly write that.

So for Shove this means you don't shove on failure. But not fall prone.


Ah! Ok! So nothing happens. Thank you.
I'm glad I asked!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Shove Failure All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.