Can you interrupt Dimensional Dervish?


Rules Questions

101 to 109 of 109 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Ryze Kuja wrote:
James Jacobs confirmed that the amount of movement you can perform while following your target during a bull rush is your total movement speed, and Chell you were even part of that discussion. So, I have no idea why you would say something like you only have 5ft of available movement in a round when you were involved in that discussion.

Right… I forgot about that answer from James Jacobs… but if you recall, my stance has always been that you could only follow 5ft on a full attack… I even called out how absurd his ruling on the matter actually makes things when applied to a full attack. So I stand by what I said still…


I called it out too in the post just above your linky. Pretty sure he misspoke when he insinuated that each bull rush gets its own individual amount of "available movement". It should just be 30ft total within a round (barring monks and barbarians, or anyone slower than 30ft). 60ft total with haste. 90ft with fly/haste.

Even though charge allows you to move x2 your movement speed, that doesn't mean you get x2 your movement speed for bull rushing, and any movement you make during the charge gets subtracted from your "available movement". Your movement speed while charging doesn't suddenly change just because you're charging.

So if you have fly and haste active and your move speed is 90ft/round, how far you can charge is 180ft. But, if you use 95ft to reach your target, your available movement for following a target you're bull rushing is 0ft.

Btw, I just looked through the participants in that conversation and bbangerter was in on it too.


For what it’s worth, with JJs answer, you don’t even need to “treat dimensional dervish like a charge” to get your follow through movement… his ruling gives you 30ft per bullrush (which we all agree is absurd and can’t be right), and if you go with my proposed compromise from the discussion you still get 30ft of total follow through from all your combined bullrushes.


Chell Raighn wrote:
For what it’s worth, with JJs answer, you don’t even need to “treat dimensional dervish like a charge” to get your follow through movement… his ruling gives you 30ft per bullrush (which we all agree is absurd and can’t be right), and if you go with my proposed compromise from the discussion you still get 30ft of total follow through from all your combined bullrushes.

Well that's going to start an argument, because most people think teleportation isn't movement, there are some who do believe teleportation is indeed movement, but I'm not one of them. If you consider it as teleportation, then it's not possible to move with the target of your bull rush, and you would have to teleport after each "superman shove" bull rush.

Lemme ask you a philosophy question: if you have Dimensional Agility, and you perform a Dimension Door as a standard action, and use your Move Action to Draw a Weapon, can you then make a 5ft step as a Miscellaneous Action because you haven't moved?


Ryze Kuja wrote:
Lemme ask you a philosophy question: if you have Dimensional Agility, and you perform a Dimension Door as a standard action, and use your Move Action to Draw a Weapon, can you then make a 5ft step as a Miscellaneous Action because you haven't moved?

My personal stance on that is no. Because 5ft step calls out that you cannot use it in any round in which you move any distance. While I don’t count Teleport as “movement” you still move a set distance when you teleport. (And you can see my stance on that earlier in this topic even) My personal view aside, I know many in this thread will say yes because teleport is not movement.


Obligatory: "JJ is not a rules dev."

So just so I'm following the sequence of events...

1. Monk teleports to attack someone over a trap.
2. Trap triggers and monk immediately falls?

For my tables, I'd rule the Monk can still make their attack since they successfully teleported to begin with. If we go with the interpetation that the Monk immediately falls, then that means a Monk can never teleport up to punch a flying dude and then teleport back down to the ground which seems like that should be able to happen.


Dimensional Maneuvers?!?!

And now, I know. They say, knowing is half the battle... violence is the other half.


Chell Raighn wrote:
Ryze Kuja wrote:
Lemme ask you a philosophy question: if you have Dimensional Agility, and you perform a Dimension Door as a standard action, and use your Move Action to Draw a Weapon, can you then make a 5ft step as a Miscellaneous Action because you haven't moved?
My personal stance on that is no. Because 5ft step calls out that you cannot use it in any round in which you move any distance. While I don’t count Teleport as “movement” you still move a set distance when you teleport. (And you can see my stance on that earlier in this topic even) My personal view aside, I know many in this thread will say yes because teleport is not movement.

Just making sure I understand you correctly; you consider a teleport to be "movement" for the purposes of allowing/disallowing a 5ft step as a Miscellaneous Action, but do not consider it "movement" for a Fly check on a Dimensional Dervish/Maneuver?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
VoodistMonk wrote:

Dimensional Maneuvers?!?!

And now, I know. They say, knowing is half the battle... violence is the other half.

Dimensional Maneuvers on a Synthesist Summoner absolutely pwns. DDoor is a 3rd level spell, but SynSums also get DDoor via Maker's Jump at level 6, so they can start getting Dimensional Agility, Assault, and Dervish chain rolling right at lvl 6. Pick up Gr Bull Rush as your lvl 7 feat. Get Pauldrons of the Bull to roll twice on any Bull Rush attempt. At level 9, you take Dimensional Maneuvers make sure you have Giant Fist Gauntlets by this level, and let the teleport+hit+shove nonsense commence.

If you use Evolutions to get extra feats and limbs, you can Teleport+Hit+Shove, Teleport+Hit+Shove, Teleport+Hit+Shove over and over with all the Eidolon's natural attacks. And with Gr Bull Rush, your allies will provoke vs. any enemy you shove near them.

101 to 109 of 109 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you interrupt Dimensional Dervish? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.