Alchemical ammunition (Munitions Crafter?)


Pathfinder Second Edition General Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Howdy

So the GUnslinger feat mentions Alchemical ammunition as being an option along with bombs for their restricted infusions.

Do these exist yet? or is it just future proofing. I've not found any currently.

(Also boy do I wish the infusion things would work with Alchemist. as seperate pools with respective restrictions)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Have a few, like this one


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Oh neat!
I can find more with that Alchemical tag too.

Thanks~

Kind of interesting for an Alchemist Beast Gunner.

Scarab Sages

Too bad they need to be activated.


Angel Hunter D wrote:
Too bad they need to be activated.

I'm pretty sure your interact to reload counts as an activation. I'm not sure for bows though.


I hope that we get an alchemist methodology specializing in alchemical ammunition at some point.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
aobst128 wrote:
Angel Hunter D wrote:
Too bad they need to be activated.
I'm pretty sure your interact to reload counts as an activation. I'm not sure for bows though.

Per the rules for activation, activating ammunition explicitly doesn't interact with reload. You can activate > reload > shoot or reload > activate > shoot. So 3 actions for most firearms.

It also means it's impossible to use activated ammo with a heavy crossbow, gnome amalgam musket or fire lance unless you're Quickened.


I need to read the INteract rules. I wonder what the requirements are...
Can a familiar interact to activate it while you load your firearm? Since familiars can get that free action and can sit on you.
might require GM fiat.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Zwordsman wrote:
Can a familiar interact to activate it while you load your firearm?

No, they can't activate anything.


Bummer sauce~ makes sense though.

I kind of like that bleed weakness one. though I don't know of any super effective ranged weapon methods todo that. Would work well with a Woundy ally though.


graystone wrote:
Zwordsman wrote:
Can a familiar interact to activate it while you load your firearm?
No, they can't activate anything.

They can reload though, but you'd only see action economy advantage in niche scenarios, even more niche if you have access to feats that improve reloading.

Like, hypothetically, an independent/manual dex familiar could take your tentacle cannon with it's free 1 action, then be commanded to reload a barrel each turn, and then hand it back with another free action, but really, thats an incredibly niche situation, and probably not even worth it most of the time when you could just be using running reload or a slingers reload

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.

They can only reload if they're holding the weapon, needing to take the gun back from the familiar means you don't actually gain any actions.


Angel Hunter D wrote:
They can only reload if they're holding the weapon, needing to take the gun back from the familiar means you don't actually gain any actions.

With independent, passing the gun is free, meaning you save 1 action per barrel loaded

That said, running reload/slingers reloads also give you the same 2 for 1 economy, so the benefit is super niche, since the minimum turns for the familiar reload to be helpful is 3 turns


Ammunition has a couple of serious drawbacks, yeah. One for guns in particular is that RAW you cannot have one in the chamber in preparation for a fight, because to activate them you have to touch them with your hand. That is kind of impossible when they are already loaded.


Alchemic_Genius wrote:
Like, hypothetically, an independent/manual dex familiar could take your tentacle cannon with it's free 1 action

Round #1.

Alchemic_Genius wrote:
then be commanded to reload a barrel each turn

Round #2-4 [5 reload actions, costing the PC 3 actions] and it has an action left over to hand it back at the end of round #4


I was trying to find a reference... is there anything that says you have to use the item the same round you Activate it? I seem to think there is, but I haven't been able to find it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Quote:
Once you activate the ammunition, you must shoot it before the end of your turn. Otherwise, it deactivates (but it isn’t consumed) and you must activate it again before you can use it.

From here


graystone wrote:
Alchemic_Genius wrote:
Like, hypothetically, an independent/manual dex familiar could take your tentacle cannon with it's free 1 action

Round #1.

Alchemic_Genius wrote:
then be commanded to reload a barrel each turn
Round #2-4 [5 reload actions, costing the PC 3 actions] and it has an action left over to hand it back at the end of round #4

Oh, I never said it was even remotely good, but hypothetically, there is a scenario where familiar reloading *could* work.

Ever since the air repeater came out, I do have independent/manual dexterity familiar taking my gun and reloading in my alchemist's toolkit since I can still quick bomb while my familiar loads the gun.

That said, it's only in my toolkit because independent/manual dexterity is how I save an action drawing elixirs every so often by having it pass me an item with it's free action

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / General Discussion / Alchemical ammunition (Munitions Crafter?) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.