Fling Magic: is NOT a spell and not a ranged attack. It doesn't provoke reactions? Is this intended?


Thaumaturge Class


Fling Magic is not a spell (and so therefore uses neither somatic nor material spellcasting actions). It does not have the attack trait and is therefore not a ranged attack.

So from my reading, it does not provoke Attacks of Opportunity.

It also doesn't provoke some other reactions -- it does not have the Concentrate trait, either.

It doesn't call for an attack roll; rather, it calls for a Reflex save.

So you can stand in an enemy's face, use Fling Magic, and swing your weapon, all without suffering any attack penalties and with no danger of provoking the usual reactions.

Am I right in reading this? And was this intended?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

you are reading it correctly, and I feel like it might be intended but I can see it being an error


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is probably intended. I'm assuming its a beneficial choice as it does not work with antithesis nor most feats for casting or weapons.

Though I want to make a wand autoxbow user due to it


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I had the same thought while reading through the Chalice, which also doesn't have the manipulate trait. I could see this as being intentional, since making the sip action provoke reactions would be... detrimental to it's perceived value.

Then again, not everything has a reaction in PF2 in the first place. So very dependent on your campaign.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Dark Archive Playtest / Thaumaturge Class / Fling Magic: is NOT a spell and not a ranged attack. It doesn't provoke reactions? Is this intended? All Messageboards