Adamantine Armor DR Questions


Rules Questions


Got a level 8 Fighter who took Armor
Juggernaut and had Adamantine full plate.

How much DR Do I have and what is it over come by?


Adamantine full plate: DR 3/-
Armored juggernaut: DR 2/- when wearing heavy armor.

These will overlap and your fighter will have DR 3/-. Armored juggernaut is wasted unless you wear something else. DR x/- is not overcome by anything.


@ AVR Thank you for your reply.

Question was there and Errata to Armor Jugernaught.I ask cause I am looking at the SRD Site and armor juggernaut says it stacks with the armor


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The DR from this ability stacks with that provided by adamantine armor, but not with other forms of damage reduction.

I think avr just missed it. You'd have DR 5/- which means it is not overcome by anything except abilities that ignores or reduces the amount of DR you have.

In other words, your DR has no weakness.


Wonderstell wrote:

The DR from this ability stacks with that provided by adamantine armor, but not with other forms of damage reduction.

I think avr just missed it. You'd have DR 5/- which means it is not overcome by anything except abilities that ignores or reduces the amount of DR you have.

In other words, your DR has no weakness.

Ah ok thanks for clarifying


Armored Juggernaut wrote:

Armored Juggernaut (Ex)

When wearing heavy armor, the fighter gains DR 1/—. At 7th level, the fighter gains DR 1/— when wearing medium armor, and DR 2/— when wearing heavy armor. At 11th level, the fighter gains DR 1/— when wearing light armor, DR 2/— when wearing medium armor, and DR 3/— when wearing heavy armor. If the fighter is 19th level and has the armor mastery class feature, these DR values increase by 5. The DR from this ability stacks with that provided by adamantine armor, but not with other forms of damage reduction. This damage reduction does not apply if the fighter is helpless, stunned, or unconscious.

That's correct, the DR 3/- from Adamantine armor stacks with the DR 2/- from Armored Juggernaut, so you will have DR 5/- right now at lvl 8. And at lvl 11, it will become DR6/-, and at lvl 19, it will be increased by an additional 5, for a total of 11/-.


Look out for Antipaladins (or Paladins if you're evil), and fighters with Improved Penetrating Strike.


I would take the devil's advocate, the text highlighted by Ryze uses "forms" instead of "sources", which to me indicates what I rule in my own games: Different DR's obviously don't total together, so DR 10/magic and DR 10/slashing wouldn't reduce a mundane bludeoning weapon by 20 points, but if you had two different valid sources of DR 10/slashing, DR 10/magic, or especially DR 10/-, the DR would add together to a total DR 20/whatever. This is basically what the Juggernaut clarification is doing already, and is what I have seen a lot of people do with say a barbarian who picks up adamantine armor as well.

To me, the usage of forms indicates that the rule is trying to point out the damage can't be double reduced by two completely different types of DR, but if for some reason if you get the same "form" of DR from two different effects (i.e. really thickly scarred skin and an ultradurable metal over said skin) they still combine effects into one collective DR.


@AwesomenessDog

What??? 0_o

Seriously I'm not quite sure what you're saying.

It doesn't matter too much though, since Wonderstell and Ryze Kuja are 100% correct. If you're disagreeing with them in any way then unfortunately that means you're interpreting this incorrectly.


Basically DR/[/i]Magic[/i] is a form of DR, DR/- is a form of DR, you can't stack the reduction from different forms but you can stack from the same form.

"The DR from this ability stacks with that provided by adamantine armor, but not with other forms of damage reduction." Why use form over source in the sentence if if this isn't the case? The even do it in the main Damage Reduction rule:

"If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation."

The Exchange

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't think any of us are quite understanding you here, AwesomenessDog.

Are you suggesting that if I have DR 10/bludgeoning from one source and DR 5/bludgeoning from another source they would stack and I have DR 15/bludgeoning?


Wonderstell wrote:

The DR from this ability stacks with that provided by adamantine armor, but not with other forms of damage reduction.

I think avr just missed it. You'd have DR 5/- which means it is not overcome by anything except abilities that ignores or reduces the amount of DR you have.

In other words, your DR has no weakness.

Yup, missed that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Adamantine Armor DR Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.