Using Ostentatious Arrival with Meld into Eidolon?


Rules Discussion


Is this possible? IE, does Meld into Eidolon count as Manifest your Eidolon for Ostentatious Arrival?
If so does doing that prevent you from taking the damage from Ostentatious Arrival?


I believe based on the bolded section I have posted below that yes you can combo Meld and Arrival and based on the Emanation rule you would be able to ignore the damage. Unless of course I completely misinterpreting the rules.

MELD INTO EIDOLON wrote:
Your physical form can combine with that of your eidolon, granting benefits but limiting your capabilities. You Manifest your Eidolon, but instead of summoning it into an adjacent open space, you become it. While Manifested in this way, you use its statistics...
OSTENTATIOUS ARRIVAL wrote:
If the next action you take is to Manifest your Eidolon as a three-action activity, or to Cast a three-action summoning Spell, the creature appears in an explosion All creatures in a 10-foot emanation around the creature you summoned or manifested take...
EMANATION wrote:
Source Core Rulebook pg. 457 2.0 An emanation... Unless the text states otherwise, the creature creating an emanation effect chooses whether the creature at its center is affected


Thanks for the reply. ;)

That's the way it looked to me too but I'm still making my way through the book so I wanted to see if there was something I missed.

Liberty's Edge

I believe it works because Meld into Eidolon is indeed a 3-action activity where you Manifest your Eidolon.


Does it still count, since it's an activity manifesting your eidolon, rather than specifically using the Manifest Eidolon action?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

It reads like it's the same action, where it appears is the only difference.

Grand Lodge

Going to go against the grain here and say no, because your action is not Manifest Your Eidolon, it's Meld Into Eidolon. They don't count as the same thing even though one's activity is simply a modification of the other.


That's a good point. Ostentatious Arrival says "If your next action is" which would disqualify Meld into Eidolon as that is the action you take next, not Manifest Eidolon.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

From a RAW perspective I would say that it is ambiguous.

Ostentatious Arrival requires that "the next action you take is to Manifest your Eidolon". Meld into Eidolon is not Manifest. While it does the same thing, it is its own action. Where the ambiguity comes in is that "Manfest your Eidolon" is not an action either. The action's name is "Manifest Eidolon."

A clearer wording would be "If the next action you take is the Manifest Eidolon action as a three-action activity..."

Or alternatively, Meld could have not been a special action but merely said "When you use the Manifest Eidolon action..."

The question is, when Meld and Ostentatious say "Manifest your Eidolon" do they mean the specific action "Manifest Eidolon" or do they mean the more general "using an action that results in your eidolon manifesting." If its the former, they don't work together. If it's the latter, then they do.

All that being said, as a GM I would allow it.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Guntermench wrote:
That's a good point. Ostentatious Arrival says "If your next action is" which would disqualify Meld into Eidolon as that is the action you take next, not Manifest Eidolon.

If we want to get that pedantic about it, it says if your next action is to Manifest your Eidolon, not if your next action is Manifest Eidolon.

The 'to' there is referring to the result of the action, not the name of the action (which would read more 'if your next action is Manifest your Eidolon' - which as Kelseus points out, doesn't exist).

To support this;
1) there is no action named 'Manifest your Eidolon', it's 'Manifest Eidolon'.
2) the result of the Meld Into Eidolon action is 'you Manifest your Eidolon'.

So if Ostentatious Arrival works at all, then it must work for Meld into Eidolon.


I feel that RAI it should work. As for RAW, it is able to be debated, but I will side with Kelseus and Throne that Ostentatious Arrival works with Meld Into Eidolon for the reasons that they gave.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Is there any other way to use Ostentatious Arrival without damage summoner?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
The Ronyon wrote:
Is there any other way to use Ostentatious Arrival without damage summoner?

Using it with actual summon spells lets you just summon them away from you.

While manifesting the eidolon, no.

The playtest version of the feat exempted the Summoner from its effects and that line was removed from the final version.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

With regular summon spells.

If this works with Incarnate spells that would be both hilarious and fitting. I think it does.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Throne wrote:
Guntermench wrote:
That's a good point. Ostentatious Arrival says "If your next action is" which would disqualify Meld into Eidolon as that is the action you take next, not Manifest Eidolon.

If we want to get that pedantic about it, it says if your next action is to Manifest your Eidolon, not if your next action is Manifest Eidolon.

The 'to' there is referring to the result of the action, not the name of the action (which would read more 'if your next action is Manifest your Eidolon' - which as Kelseus points out, doesn't exist).

To support this;
1) there is no action named 'Manifest your Eidolon', it's 'Manifest Eidolon'.
2) the result of the Meld Into Eidolon action is 'you Manifest your Eidolon'.

So if Ostentatious Arrival works at all, then it must work for Meld into Eidolon.

This is also how I took it you must use an activity that "Manifests your Eidolon" and it must use 3 actions, But I suppose it will likely be a table decision until the Errata comes out

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just realized that it works with Summon instrument.


The Raven Black wrote:
Just realized that it works with Summon instrument.

Nope.

"Summoning Spells
When the Master Summoner, Ostentatious Arrival, and Legendary Summoner feats refer to summoning spells, they mean spells that conjure a creature with the summoned trait. The spells that qualify from the Core Rulebook and this book are summon anarch, summon animal, summon axiom, summon elemental, summon entity, summon fey, summon fiend, summon lesser servitor, and summon plant or fungus. Your GM might add other spells from future books that work like these spells."

Liberty's Edge

Too bad.

Liberty's Edge

The Ronyon wrote:
Is there any other way to use Ostentatious Arrival without damage summoner?

If you have enough resistance to the energy.

Or a Champion ally nearby.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Raven Black wrote:
The Ronyon wrote:
Is there any other way to use Ostentatious Arrival without damage summoner?

If you have enough resistance to the energy.

Or a Champion ally nearby.

Champion won't work b/c it is only triggered if you are damaged by an enemy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Using Ostentatious Arrival with Meld into Eidolon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.