Bardic Masterpiece: Lingering Leitmotif


Rules Questions


Quote:

Prerequisite(s): Perform (sing) or Perform (oratory) 4 ranks.

Cost: Feat or 2nd-level bard spell known.

Effect: You sing or chant simple phrases or a distinctive series of notes that you associate with a specific trade good or service. While you perform these jingles, allies within 30 feet are affected by this performance’s effects and are treated as being affected by your inspire confidence bardic performance.

Furthermore, if an affected creature purchases the associated good or service, that creature immediately gains a number of temporary hit points equal to half your bard level.

Use: 3 bardic performance rounds, plus 1 round per additional person affected.

Activation: 1 standard action.

If I'm reading this correctly, what it basically does is keep your inspire confidence going at the cost of 3 + 1 extra party member? So instead of an ongoing performance, you just pop it once and they get the tune stuck in their heads?


I have no idea...

Masterpieces confuse the $#!+ out of my sometimes. The way a lot of them are worded, you would assume you can have both a Masterpiece and a Bardic Performance going at the same time, but I don't think that is the case. So...

How long are your allies affected?

It says as long as you chant... is chanting another standard action and another 3+X rounds of Performance?

Why not just perform the Inspire Confidence Performance?


VoodistMonk wrote:

I have no idea...

Masterpieces confuse the $#!+ out of my sometimes. The way a lot of them are worded, you would assume you can have both a Masterpiece and a Bardic Performance going at the same time, but I don't think that is the case. So...

How long are your allies affected?

It says as long as you chant... is chanting another standard action and another 3+X rounds of Performance?

Why not just perform the Inspire Confidence Performance?

Exactly why I was asking - this is 100% worthless unless you get to keep it up without expending rounds of performance.

I agree, some are worded with the writer clearly thinking, "Well, I already know what I want to say, so lemme write this down in as few words as possible."


I think the effect of this is inspire courage or possibly inspire competence (inspire confidence isn't a thing?), which also gives temp HP. If your bard archetype has traded out inspire courage for something else it's a useful trick, or if you really want those temp HP.


avr wrote:
I think the effect of this is inspire courage or possibly inspire competence (inspire confidence isn't a thing?), which also gives temp HP. If your bard archetype has traded out inspire courage for something else it's a useful trick, or if you really want those temp HP.

I presumed it was inspire competence, but you're right - it could mean either.

Unless they meant this:

Quote:


Inspiring Confidence (Ex)
Source Weapon Master's Handbook pg. 18
A number of times per day equal to his highest weapon training bonus as a swift action, the fighter can allow one ally within 30 feet to attempt a new saving throw against an ongoing fear effect that causes the ally to cower or to become frightened, panicked, or shaken. If the ally succeeds at the save, the effect ends. A fighter can use this option even when not wielding a weapon from the associated weapon group.

But I find that HIGHLY unlikely, considering it says "the Bard's" in the description.

Weird thing is, Masterpieces that have an ongoing effect will either have a cost in rounds listed in the "Use" section like The Quickening Pulse (Use: 1 bardic performance round per round of bleed) or a duration like Triple Time (this masterpiece increases the affected target’s base land speed by 10 feet for 1 hour. )

Eh.

Who knows.


"Your clever turn of words or catchy musical jingle sticks in people’s heads long after they have heard it."

This is in the description of the ability which makes me think that it inspire competence that it was suppose to be inspire competence that you activate and trigger later.

It still has 3 uses, inspire competence you can use on yourself

Inspire competence you can use on multiple people at the same time

Getting access to inspire competence of you trade it away in an archetype

Dark Archive

Doompatrol wrote:

"Your clever turn of words or catchy musical jingle sticks in people’s heads long after they have heard it."

This is in the description of the ability which makes me think that it inspire competence that it was suppose to be inspire competence that you activate and trigger later.

It still has 3 uses, inspire competence you can use on yourself

Inspire competence you can use on multiple people at the same time

Getting access to inspire competence of you trade it away in an archetype

It doesn't grant inspire competence, it gives inspire confidence

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bardic Masterpiece: Lingering Leitmotif All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.