Hello all! It's been years since I've posted on these forums, but this has always been one of the more reasonable D&D communities, and I'm stuck on a question.
That question is: Can you use Minor Illusion to fill in the Verbal component of another spell. It was asked to Wizards of the Coast's "Sage Advice" Twitter account back in 2017, and the entire answer was "You can't cast two spells at once. #wotc". I haven't found an official answer to this question since.
The problem with this answer is twofold. First, it ignores that Minor Illusion has a duration of 1 minute, but a casting time of 1 action, which leaves the player with 9 more rounds where Minor Illusion is active but not being cast; *and* ignores that the PHB itself says that if on a turn where you cast a spell with a casting time of "Bonus Action" you can only cast a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action - or to rephrase it in a very important way, on a turn where you cast a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action, you can cast a spell with a casting time of "Bonus Action". Minor Illusion is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action!
Obviously, the key to all of this is whether or not an illusion can be used to fulfill a spell component. The Seeming spell specifically says you can't use it to create material components, but there's no such wording in Minor Illusion nor am I aware of a general ruling on auditory illusions.
So, is anyone here aware of any official rulings on this other than 2017's useless answer?