3 - Eyes of Empty Death (GM Reference)


Abomination Vaults

51 to 68 of 68 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.
ShadowFighter88 wrote:

So just going through it and noticed a hiccup with the map, specifically on A16. The room's description mentions some of the cages being marked to indicate their current occupants, but all of the cages on the map are blank.

EDIT: Should point out this is the PDF and I'm looking at both the map in the adventure PDF and the version in the maps PDF. Both have the cages unmarked.

Has anyone figured out what is going on with this issue? The hard copy book's map is also unmarked.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Lozardyn is mentioned a few times in chapter two, but I don't see anything that actually says what it is. I gather it's a nearby drow city?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Was map lacking markings for which cage had which creature ever fixed?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
CorvusMask wrote:
Was map lacking markings for which cage had which creature ever fixed?

It's fixed in the hardcover. Counterclockwise from the southernmost, it's skeleton, krooth, empty, chuul, skeleton, empty, empty.


On Level 9, the Random Encounters (The Cavern Vast) indicate that the creatures come from specific areas. If the PCs encounter a set of creatures in a random encounter, does that reduce or eliminate those creatures from the area they are from? Conversely, if they encounter the creatures in their home area and eliminate them, does the random encounter entry now count as no encounter?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
SillyOldeBear wrote:
On Level 9, the Random Encounters (The Cavern Vast) indicate that the creatures come from specific areas. If the PCs encounter a set of creatures in a random encounter, does that reduce or eliminate those creatures from the area they are from? Conversely, if they encounter the creatures in their home area and eliminate them, does the random encounter entry now count as no encounter?

Yes, that's how I'm playing it.

Scarab Sages

Quick question, on the first level of book 3 (the food level with the gnome-bog-mummie) the PCs encountered (and killed) the Gug before they met the cult dedicated to him (because they are players, of course they did). So how does the cult leader react? I know normally he is supposed to able to become an ally, but if he knows they killed his gug ‘god’ does he attack aw them out of anger? Become despondent? Give up and revert to his old religion?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber
VampByDay wrote:
Quick question, on the first level of book 3 (the food level with the gnome-bog-mummie) the PCs encountered (and killed) the Gug before they met the cult dedicated to him (because they are players, of course they did). So how does the cult leader react? I know normally he is supposed to able to become an ally, but if he knows they killed his gug ‘god’ does he attack aw them out of anger? Become despondent? Give up and revert to his old religion?

I would definitely have the cult be hostile to the PCs if they became aware that they killed the gug. But if it hasn't been long, I'm not sure they would realize their 'god' is dead.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I'm coming up on the end of the AP and I can't find the actual rules for how to use the Fulcrum Lenses and/or Fulcrum Lattices against Belcorra. Can anyone give me a specific page number or place to look? I have found mentions that it's easier with the Lattice, but no rules on what you specifically do in combat, or what the exact effects are for just using 1 or 2 of the items. Help?
I have both the three and the unified versions, but I've just been checking the hardcover. Did this not make the transition?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

my thoughts:
Belcorra has the Ebon lens. Each of the other three has this ability:
Activate [two-actions] Interact (attack, possession);
Effect While grasping the lens, make a melee spell attack roll with a modifier of +18. On a hit, you force the splinter of Nhimbaloth’s essence from the lens to possess the target. You’re no longer invested in the lens, and the target gains the benefits as though it had invested the lens but can’t activate the lens’s other abilities. This effect is permanent, but it can be ended by any effect that removes a possession effect. The lens doesn’t have any magical abilities until the possession effect ends; when it does, the essence returns to the lens.

Seems like if you activate each lens (except the Ebon) against Belcorra in this way, Nhimbaloth's attention will be drawn to her, resulting in her death. With the Fulcrum Lattice it seems like you can activate all three lenses at once.

This strategy may rely on Belcorra absorbing at least one splinter of Belcorra's essence of the three in the Ebon Fulcrum. A better strategy, if you can get the Ebon Fulcrum from Belcorra, would be to put it in the lattice with the other three and activate all four at once. But see below.

This from page 205 of the hardcover edition:

Quote:
Once the heroes infuse Belcorra with all three of Nhimbaloth’s splinters, the earth shakes. A tremendous and hideous wail emanates from somewhere beyond this chamber—indeed, it seems, from beyond the Material Plane. All creatures in the Abomination Vaults must succeed a DC 30 Will save or become frightened 3 (a creature that critically fails is also paralyzed for 1d4 rounds). At the start of the following round, Nhimbaloth’s essence pervades the room.

So perhaps the PCs don't need to gain the Ebon Fulcrum Lens and put it in the Lattice.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber
goodkinghadrian wrote:
CorvusMask wrote:
Was map lacking markings for which cage had which creature ever fixed?
It's fixed in the hardcover. Counterclockwise from the southernmost, it's skeleton, krooth, empty, chuul, skeleton, empty, empty.

Those cages are way too small for a huge sized creature


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Which of these creatures are huge? Looks to me like they're all large.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

The Skeletal Hulks.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Hm. From the hardcover edition of AV: "an 's' indicates a cage with a skeletal hulk that was once a Large reptilian humanoid".

I grant you that the bestiary entry says skeletal hulks are huge, but the quote above makes me question that: how does what was once large when alive end up having a huge skeleton?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Look, I really don't want to argue about whether I'm just too stupid to get the inferred meaning. If they wanted me to use a variant skeletal hulk, they should have specified. It's an error on their part. I don't pay for AP's to wildly guess at meaning.

Scarab Sages

So . . . I have a problem. I read everything to my players, they understand that Getting The mad god's attention will permanently take care of Belcorra, but . . and here's the thing, they kinda missed the part about how to do that. And all of them staunchly refuse to invest in the lenses. Which . . . normally good call, but you need to invest in the lenses in order to transfer the shard into Belcora to get the mad god's full attention. Should I just tell them? They think it will be as easy as walking in, pointing the lenses at Belcorra, and walking out. Thoughts?


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, LO Special Edition, Pathfinder Accessories, PF Special Edition Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Let them do it their way. They'll figure it out eventually. Or not.

51 to 68 of 68 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Abomination Vaults / 3 - Eyes of Empty Death (GM Reference) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Abomination Vaults