Is the Reflex save on Trample optional?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Trample says:

Trample wrote:
The monster deals the damage of the listed Strike, but trampled creatures can attempt a basic Reflex save at the listed DC (no damage on a critical success, half damage on a success, double damage on a critical failure).

Seems clear to me. But maybe it’s an artifact left over from 1e? What happens when you choose not to make the save? Just failure?

Horizon Hunters

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I wouldn't take the "can" there as optional. If it said "can choose to" then sure, but the use of can in this case it likely just a quirk of English. Like asking your Teaching if you can use they restroom, and they say "I don't know, CAN you?"


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Can means can.

A creature that doesn't make a save just takes the damage of the listed strike, per the ability's description.

Presumably potentially useful for someone who's got dangerously high odds of crit failing and doesn't want to risk it I guess. A little odd though.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Squiggit wrote:

Can means can.

A creature that doesn't make a save just takes the damage of the listed strike, per the ability's description.

Presumably potentially useful for someone who's got dangerously high odds of crit failing and doesn't want to risk it I guess. A little odd though.

That’s what I thought too. Never noticed that till today :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Is the Reflex save on Trample optional? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.