Errata needed for Alase - God Caller feat?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Alase the summoner has a feat in the God Caller role that may need errata or need an update to the core conversion FAQ.

☐ While you attempt a check to acquire (☐ or would banish) a card that has an adventure deck number at least 2 less than the scenario's adventure deck number, you may recharge a blessing to gain the skill Divine: Charisma +2.

Pre-core that would allow recharging lower level divine spells but post-core temporarily having the skill doesn't prevent the spell from being banished.
And unlike some other characters Alase was not granted Divine proficiency in the conversion FAQ.


If this helps, the Transition Guide (Core rulebook, p. 26) states:

Treat characters that have the Arcane or Divine skill as proficient with the corresponding trait, and treat characters that are proficient with Heavy Armors as proficient with armor.

So recharging the blessing for Alase's power would temporarily (?) grant Alase Divine proficiency, I'd think, since it gives her the Divine skill.

(In general, I do think it's confusing to have both a Transition Guide and a conversion FAQ. Ideally, they'd be combined into a single document.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

In the project to convert the legacy characters to core rules, the result was to change that power to:

Quote:
□ While you attempt a check to acquire (□ or would banish) a card whose level is no more than #-2, you may recharge a blessing to gain the skill Divine: Charisma +2 and you are proficient with Divine.

You can download the final version of her converted character sheet at the Board Game Geek (and you can see links to all of the final versions here). Note that the sheets developed in that project are unofficial, but there was developer input.


For anyone else stumbling upon this thread, it was noted on the Organized Play Online Discord channel that when you play the spell, you are banishing it (though it goes to the recovery area, not the vault). Then, during recovery, if you fail to recover it, you would banish it to the vault, so again her power can be used. Unfortunately, if she wants the Divine skill when she plays the spell (for instance, if it's an attack spell), that's once she'd have to recharge a blessing, then she must recharge a second one if she wants to keep the spell during recovery. Under the old rules, she'd only have needed to recharge one, when she first played it.
As wkover notes, she gains Divine proficiency when she gains the Divine skill, but again, that's potentially a second blessing when it would have only required one in the old days.
I agree it would be nice to have an errata for this.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Bit worse than that, getting Divine proficiency and the Divine skill at the time you banish the card doesn't actually mean you have either when it comes time to recover it.

Rulebook p6 (emphasis mine) wrote:
Then, if you have any cards in a recovery pile, do whatever they say to do during recovery. While you do this, you may play cards or use powers only if they affect things that happen during recovery. (It’s possible to play cards during recovery that go into the recovery pile themselves.) After you’ve dealt with them all, banish any that remain.

So, you'd banish it after having "dealt with it" (meaning you looked at its power and determined you do not have Divine proficiency). So you can't make a check to recover, and recharging a blessing at the time it gets banished for real doesn't help because you've already lost your chance to recover it. As such, the original wording as well as Brother Tyler's re-wording above do not function as intended.

A better wording is as follows (slightly modified from what I posted on the PACS discord earlier):

Quote:
☐ While you attempt a check to acquire (☐ or during recovery for) a card whose level is at most #-2, you may recharge a blessing to gain proficiency in Divine and the skill Divine: Charisma +2.


Unfortunately, that doesn't provide the Divine skill when casting, which is a huge change from the original intent. Going from a Divine of 1d10+2 to 1d4+2 when casting is harsh. (Her CHA is a d10, and as her Arcane stat, probably has a skill feat or two by the time she gets her role card, making it even worse!)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Whipstitch wrote:
Unfortunately, that doesn't provide the Divine skill when casting, which is a huge change from the original intent. Going from a Divine of 1d10+2 to 1d4+2 when casting is harsh. (Her CHA is a d10, and as her Arcane stat, probably has a skill feat or two by the time she gets her role card, making it even worse!)

Good point! So it seems we need this feat to pull a double duty somehow: needs to apply while casting the spell and also during recovery for that spell, all while only recharging one blessing. All while still fitting onto the card; being able to shorten all of the "adventure deck number" stuff to "level" buys us a few more words, but not enough for a completely new sentence.

Maybe something like this? But I think the wording may be a bit confusing. It's not completely clear that the "and" in "while playing and during recovery for" means you recharge one blessing to get both, because Cards Don't Have Memories.

Quote:
☐ While you attempt a check to acquire (☐ or while playing and during recovery for) a card whose level is at most #-2, you may recharge a blessing to gain proficiency in Divine and the skill Divine: Charisma +2.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Clearer but a little longer could be:
(☐ or while playing and subsequently attempting to recover)
I think that indicates you get the skill and proficiency both times.

I'm curious why the concern of fitting on the card. Are you expecting the card to get reprinted? In any case, you underestimate what's saved with the new wording!

(Old) "that has an adventure deck number at least 2 less than the scenario’s adventure deck number" = 95 characters
(New) "whose level is at most #-2" = 26 characters
(New) "proficiency in Divine and" = 25 characters

saving 44 characters

(Old) "or would banish" = 15 characters
(New) "or while playing and subsequently attempting to recover" = 55 characters

gaining 40

(Even if I miscounted, you get the idea.)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Yeah that's a lot clearer. And I'm not expecting any of the old characters to get reprinted, but it'd be a nice surprise if they were :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Errata needed for Alase - God Caller feat? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion
Role Cards