Attack of opportunity question

Rules Discussion

So I have played 1e for a long time but I am new to 2e and GMing. Last night one of my players who was a fighter tried to use an attack of opportunity on a npc who moved up to attack him but had the same reach. In 1e I know that this didn't provoke since you had to move through a threatened square, but the 2e rule just says that it is triggered if you use a move action in a threatened square. Is striding up to someone a move action that provokes for 2 five foot reach medium characters?

Thanks in advance

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber


If we look at the trigger of Attack of Opportunity, below, we see a few ways that something can provoke. The relevant ones are "A creature within your reach uses a manipulate action or a move action" and "or leaves a square during a move action it’s using."

Why are these two seperate parts of the trigger? Because in your case the creature was not within the fighters reach when it used the move action (first trigger) so it needs to leave a square wihtin reach (second trigger) just like in 1E, in order to provoke.


Attack of Opportunity Reaction

Source Core Rulebook pg. 142 2.0

Trigger A creature within your reach uses a manipulate action or a move action, makes a ranged attack, or leaves a square during a move action it’s using.

You lash out at a foe that leaves an opening. Make a melee Strike against the triggering creature. If your attack is a critical hit and the trigger was a manipulate action, you disrupt that action. This Strike doesn’t count toward your multiple attack penalty, and your multiple attack penalty doesn’t apply to this Strike.

Perfect thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Attack of opportunity question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.