Three Questions about CoCT


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hi, I am currently playing CoCT with my group and have been trying to find answers to these three questions about card powers:

1. About the location "River", it has this power:
• (AT THIS LOCATION) On your check, you may discard a card to reroll a die.

Does this mean the encountering player can use this power multiple times on a single check as long as that player still has enough hand cards?

2. About the "Covering Heavy Shield", it has two following powers:
• When you suffer Acid, Combat, or Fire damage, freely reveal to reduce it by 2.
• When a local character suffers Combat damage, freely reveal to reduce by 1.

So, if the shield holder is the one suffers damage, can that player freely reveal this same shield twice to reduce a total of 3 Combat damage points? Or the same shield can't be played again unless the player has two copies in the hand?

3. About displaying multiple armors, I understand that a player can display how many armors the player can but can only play one armor for damage reduction per time that player suffers damage.

So, if a monster deals damage multiple times (before, during, after acting) and the player has displayed two armors, can that player play them to reduce damage points twice (let's say before and after acting) if appropriate?

Thank you in advance for reading my questions.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I will answer to the best of my ability, but may be "overruled".

1. According to the Core Set Rulebook, page 8, under the "Roll the Dice" step:

Core Set Rulebook wrote:
Powers that allow or require you to reroll dice happen now; each such power can reroll dice no more than once per check.

Therefore, that could only be used once per check. If you face something requiring more than one character at that location to make a check, each could use that power. Or, if a character faces something requiring multiple checks, the power could be used once per check. (As you noted, assuming there are still cards in the respective hands).

2. No. Core Set Rulebook page 8, under the "Example: Multiple Powers and Playing Freely" sidebar:

Core Set Rulebook wrote:
When you play a boon that has multiple powers, choose only one of them, even if playing the boon doesn’t take it out of your hand. This rule applies even if you are allowed to play the boon freely.

3. Yes. Each of those instances of damage is a different step, and the rules for playing only one card of a given type is reset with each separate check or step.

It is worth noting that the same armor (or other card - Ring of Protection, for instance) can be used for each separate step if the card is still available (still in your hand or displayed). Same for a character power reducing damage unless it specifies otherwise (such as only damage before you act).

You are very welcome! Nice formatting and all necessary quoted text really helped!


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Whipstitch is correct on all counts. However, their answer to question 2 was missing another relevant rule citation.

Core Rulebook, p7 wrote:
You may not reveal the same card for its power more than once per check or step.

The example sidebar on page 8 is a more general restriction on this. Despite the sidebar being titled "example", it is still part of the rulebook and any rules it introduces are still rules :)


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I have a follow-up question for 1: What if the location power isn't a reroll ability?
For example, the MM closed location Smoking Den: "For the rest of the scenario, when a character at any location attempts a check that invokes the Human or Poison trait, she may bury a card to add 1 die." In that case, could a player use this power multiple times on a single check, as long as that player still has enough hand cards?

And another question, albeit a bit of a tangent:
I recently noticed the phrasing on the WotR troop support card Knight of Kenabres: "While displayed, any character may add 1d6 to a check to defeat a barrier that has the Army trait that uses one of the following..."
Rather than something like "...any character may add 1d6 to [his/her] check" or "...when any character attempts a check...[he/she] may add 1d6 to that check".
So (assuming any relevant medals are checked) could one character use Knights of Kenabres on another character's check? And if so, could then multiple characters all use Knights of Kenabres on the same check, to effectively give +Xd6, where X is the number of characters?
While armies do scale weirdly with more players, I can't imagine that this was intended. If only since it seems like there'd have to have been a much more straightforward ways of saying it, eg "While displayed, add a number of d6s equal to the number of characters to any check to defeat..."


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
EmpTyger wrote:

I have a follow-up question for 1: What if the location power isn't a reroll ability?

For example, the MM closed location Smoking Den: "For the rest of the scenario, when a character at any location attempts a check that invokes the Human or Poison trait, she may bury a card to add 1 die." In that case, could a player use this power multiple times on a single check, as long as that player still has enough hand cards?

And another question, albeit a bit of a tangent:
I recently noticed the phrasing on the WotR troop support card Knight of Kenabres: "While displayed, any character may add 1d6 to a check to defeat a barrier that has the Army trait that uses one of the following..."
Rather than something like "...any character may add 1d6 to [his/her] check" or "...when any character attempts a check...[he/she] may add 1d6 to that check".
So (assuming any relevant medals are checked) could one character use Knights of Kenabres on another character's check? And if so, could then multiple characters all use Knights of Kenabres on the same check, to effectively give +Xd6, where X is the number of characters?
While armies do scale weirdly with more players, I can't imagine that this was intended. If only since it seems like there'd have to have been a much more straightforward ways of saying it, eg "While displayed, add a number of d6s equal to the number of characters to any check to defeat..."

Still no. Any particular power may only be used once per check or step.

Rulebook p7 wrote:
If a character power applies when a specific thing happens, you may use it each time that happens; otherwise, you may use each power no more than once per check or step.

The part after the semicolon is the general rule: you may use each power no more than once per check or step. There is a specific carve-out for character powers that apply when specific things happen. As the location power you cite is not a character power, the general restriction applies and you may use it only once.

That above general rule applies to all powers, including on support cards such as Knights of Kenabres. While any character may use it to add 1d6 to anyone's check (even if it isn't their own); that power may only be used once per check total.


@Whipstitch , @skizzerz

Thank you very much for answering! You guys help me and my group understand a lot more about the game and the rulebook so that we can play with as few errors as possible in the future.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yes, thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Three Questions about CoCT All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion
Role Cards