Before you act


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Can you use before you act powers to close / guard locations? Hypo: I'm playing the Paladin character who has the power that says "When you attempt a check before acting, you may use Divine instead of any listed skill."

An ally reveals the villain at a distant location. We go to the Villan Step to guard locations. my location says something like make a wisdom check to close / guard. Can I use her above power to change that from a wisdom to divine check? Or can I only use her above power when encountering a card, since the before you act step is only listed as a step when encountering a card.

Thanks in advanced. I'm new to the game and trying to make sure I understand the nuances of the rules.


I guess I'm just confused in general about her power. Does it only apply to checks the game requires you to take in the before acting step? Or is it a power used in the before acting step to change the check she's making to encounter a card? Or can she use it any check as long as she declares it before rolling dice?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

Only on checks made in the before acting step. “Before acting” is a specific step of an encounter, and powers referencing it cannot be used outside of that encounter step.


skizzerz wrote:
Only on checks made in the before acting step. “Before acting” is a specific step of an encounter, and powers referencing it cannot be used outside of that encounter step.

Thanks, I really think the game could have worded some of this stuff better. All they had to do with that ability was say "when you attempt a check during the before acting step of an encounter you may use divine instead of the listed skill."

Boom much clearer.


Snake0202 wrote:

I really think the game could have worded some of this stuff better. All they had to do with that ability was say "when you attempt a check during the before acting step of an encounter you may use divine instead of the listed skill."

Boom much clearer.

Except, the published version has 38 characters before "you may use Divine" and your version has 70. Space is at a premium on character cards (all cards, really).

Although, I do agree some of the game's wording is infelicitous.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Before you act All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion