I wonder if an "At this location" effect can affect an assisting distant character helping a character at this location?
Exemple with Mummy's Mask "Ruined Temple" location : At This Location : when you play a card that has the divine trait, bury it.
1-Does a distant character playing a blessing with Divine trait to assist a character on his check at the Ruined Temple is affected and have to bury it's blessing after playing it?
2-Or do we have to consider that the location effect is local and affect only card played by the local character(s)? Therefore, that would mean that cards played by the distant character may be affected by effect at his own location, and not the location of the character he's helping.
In other words, when you play cards to assist someone distant, may you suffer the location effects where you are located, or the locations effects where the check is performed by the aided character?
At This Location: These are special powers that are in effect while the location is open.
The wording in the old rulebooks was open to interpretation. The wording (but not the intent) was revised in the Core Set Rulebook:
At This Location: These are effects that happen while you are at the location, unless stated otherwise.
The wording of the Ruined Temple At This Location rule would only affect characters that are at the Ruined Temple. Divine cards played by characters at other locations would not be buried when played on checks at this location.
For this location's At This Location power to affect Divine cards at other locations, it would have to be wording along the lines of "When a card that has the divine trait is played on a check at this location, bury it."
A similar old discussion: 'At This Location' Powers (look for Hawkmoon269's posts)
Also refer to the concept Vic Wertz described in the Shark Island's "At This Location" Effect discussion here.