Wandermeal - Ult Equipment


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Wandermeal wrote:
After the first exploration of your turn, display this card. While displayed, add 1d6 to your non-combat checks. At the end of your turn, discard this card.

Does this mean that:

  • it can only be played immediately after your first exploration?
  • or that it can be played any time after your first exploration?

    The second option seems more inline with how I would expect to be able to play the card, but would not really match how "After [...]" powers generally work in PACG.

    The first option seems like an odd restriction, and presents an issue if the first exploration of the turn grants an second exploration (Ranzak's character feat, Locked Door barrier, etc). This would force you to either give up that free explore, or be prevented from playing Wandermeal at all during your turn.

    If it was intended to be playable any time after the first exploration, maybe this would work?

    Wandermeal (suggested) wrote:

    Display this card. While displayed, add 1d6 to your non-combat checks. At the end of your turn, discard this card.

    You many not play this card until after the first exploration of your turn.


  • Bump. I'd like to know the answer to this one as well.

    Though it should probably be in the rules forum ;)


    Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

    RAW is clear, "after" means "right after the trigger point", not whenever you feel like getting around to it. So, it can only be played right after you finish your first exploration.

    If you gain an additional exploration via some power during your first explore (such as Ranzak, Locked Door, etc.), additional explores must be used immediately or be forfeit. Since that has the "immediately" timing and Wandermeal does not, there is no opportunity to play Wandermeal before using that additional exploration. Should you make use of the additional exploration, the timing window for playing Wandermeal is lost and you cannot play Wandermeal that turn.

    The purpose of this thread as I understand it is to clarify whether the intent matches the actual RAW mechanics of the card.


    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    skizzerz wrote:

    RAW is clear, "after" means "right after the trigger point", not whenever you feel like getting around to it. So, it can only be played right after you finish your first exploration.

    If you gain an additional exploration via some power during your first explore (such as Ranzak, Locked Door, etc.), additional explores must be used immediately or be forfeit. Since that has the "immediately" timing and Wandermeal does not, there is no opportunity to play Wandermeal before using that additional exploration. Should you make use of the additional exploration, the timing window for playing Wandermeal is lost and you cannot play Wandermeal that turn.

    The purpose of this thread as I understand it is to clarify whether the intent matches the actual RAW mechanics of the card.

    For the sake of opinion, I agree with skizzerz regarding the RAW. It is, in my opinion, a disappointing RAW, though, and one that I would overrule in any home game instantly - particularly any where Ranzak was being played.

    Wandermeal, as a card that rewards exploration-heavy characters that make a lot of non-combat checks, is a perfect fit for Ranzak's playstyle, and having a Ranzak player have his own power sabotage one of his boons feels like a textbook example of "feel-bad" - specifically the worst kind of feel bad, which is making a player feel bad because of the character they've picked (where unique 'upsides' become 'downsides' outside of your control). It's possibly made all the worse by the fact that Ranzak's bonus exploration power isn't even optional, and so you can't argue that it adds a layer of strategy by allowing the player to decide whether to explore and lose their chance to display Wandermeal that turn, or display Wandermeal and lose out on an exploration.

    I would wholly be in support of rewording of Wandermeal's power; even if was simply "Display. You may not display this card before or during the first exploration of your turn".


    Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps Subscriber

    An easier fix if it’s intended to be able to play Wandermeal in such situations is to add the word “immediately” into the power. Then it has the same timing precedence as the additional exploration and therefore you can sequence the two in an order of your choosing.

    Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Wandermeal - Ult Equipment All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.
    Recent threads in General Discussion