Simoun Barrier power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


When simoun uses her power “add your perception skill to your check to defeat a barrier that has the trap trait” it adds the d8+2 and not just the +2 as long as I use my dexterity for the check correct? The character card says “Perception: intelligence+2” so it would add my d8 intelligence die right?


Cubbiesgirl wrote:
When simoun uses her power “add your perception skill to your check to defeat a barrier that has the trap trait” it adds the d8+2 and not just the +2 as long as I use my dexterity for the check correct? The character card says “Perception: intelligence+2” so it would add my d8 intelligence die right?

Fellow player in her game here...

Her skills:

Dexterity: Disable: Dexterity +1 (d12)
intelligence: Perception: Intelligence +2 (d8)

Her Power: “add your perception skill to your check to defeat a barrier that has the trap trait”

The rousing debate here is when she encounters a trap that calls for Dexterity Disable, does she roll her d12 +1 AND her d8 +2

OR

Does she roll the dex d12+1 and just the perception skill bonus +2 (without its d8 die)?

Everything I’m reading says when you have the add your skill power text, you JUST add it’s +bonus and NOT the die that goes with the added skill?

We’re super perplexed and need the judge to rule here. :)

Ben


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Whenever Simoun attempts a Check To Defeat against a bane with the type Barrier, Simoun adds her Perception skill, which is Intelligence + 2. Any check. It could be a Wisdom check. As long as it is a check to defeat a barrier, Simoun adds this. Before Simoun gets an Intelligence skill feat, she would add d8+2. After she gets an Intelligence skill feat, she would add d8+3. And so on.

So in your example of a Disable check to defeat to a barrier, she rolls d12+1+d8+2, assuming she has no relevant skill feats. Simoun's a barrier-buster.

FYI Every since the second PACG set (Skull&Shackles), the term "skill" always means both the die AND the modifier. See here:

MM rulebook, Sidebar, p.11 wrote:

RULES: SKILLS, DICE, AND MODIFIERS

If your character card says “Strength d10,” and the “+1” box next to that has been checked, your Strength skill is d10+1, and your Strength die is d10. (The “+1” is called a “modifier.”) If your character card also says “Melee: Strength +3,” your Melee skill is d10+4, your Melee die is d10, and the Melee modifier is +4.


elcoderdude wrote:

Whenever Simoun attempts a Check To Defeat against a bane with the type Barrier, Simoun adds her Perception skill, which is Intelligence + 2. Any check. It could be a Wisdom check. As long as it is a check to defeat a barrier, Simoun adds this. Before Simoun gets an Intelligence skill feat, she would add d8+2. After she gets an Intelligence skill feat, she would add d8+3. And so on.

So in your example of a Disable check to defeat to a barrier, she rolls d12+1+d8+2, assuming she has no relevant skill feats. Simoun's a barrier-buster.

FYI Every since the second PACG set (Skull&Shackles), the term "skill" always means both the die AND the modifier. See here:

MM rulebook, Sidebar, p.11 wrote:

RULES: SKILLS, DICE, AND MODIFIERS

If your character card says “Strength d10,” and the “+1” box next to that has been checked, your Strength skill is d10+1, and your Strength die is d10. (The “+1” is called a “modifier.”) If your character card also says “Melee: Strength +3,” your Melee skill is d10+4, your Melee die is d10, and the Melee modifier is +4.

Thanks, again. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Simoun Barrier power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion
Role Cards