PFS2 1-22 Doom of Cassomir


GM Discussion

Scarab Sages 1/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Virginia—Richmond

I'm running this scenario in a few weeks and figured I'd get started now. I have only one major question: How should we run the skill checks for the "Joining the Flock" skill challenges?

Specifically, is there any benefit for players to split the party? Any PC not trained in Deception or Religion will probably try to spy from the rooftops, but then combat's inevitable. But that would kind of leave the PCs who infiltrated out to dry, right?

What are your thoughts?

4/5 Venture-Captain, Canada—Ontario—Ottawa

In regards to the swine scopes, the success conditions mentions removing the eyes would mean that Ahksiva never notices the PCs, or the crit success says that Ahksiva remains unaware as they distract the eyes and that enemies in encounter B take a penalty.

This makes no sense as if they aren't spotted, then there shouldn't be an encounter in B because Ahksiva can't warn Reast. Can we get clarification on what exactly should be happening, or if someone obviously smarter than me can explain it, I would be more than happy as I'm just sitting here scratching my head.

2/5 5/5 ***** Venture-Captain, Massachusetts—Boston

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm a little confused by how the investigation points and the investigation are supposed to work.

What is clear to me:
a) 2 IP on a crit, 1 IP on a success, -1 IP on a crit fail
b) 6/8/9 threshold for 4/5/6 character parties
c) only three locations/rolls -- the admiral's fen and the gather information check to unlock additional locations don't grant IPs themselves.
d) at each location, only the highest roll counts for what information is received.

What isn't said, but I think has to be the case -- individual rolls by the characters do matter for IP. Ie in a party of 4, if all four roll successes, you;d award 4 IPs but only the success condition clue.

(Since if only top roll granted IP, then 6 IP is the max possible so 5/6 player tables would automatically fail the investigation). I don't think that's intended.

3/5 *** Venture-Agent, Massachusetts—Boston Metro

Paul Kekanovich wrote:

In regards to the swine scopes, the success conditions mentions removing the eyes would mean that Ahksiva never notices the PCs, or the crit success says that Ahksiva remains unaware as they distract the eyes and that enemies in encounter B take a penalty.

This makes no sense as if they aren't spotted, then there shouldn't be an encounter in B because Ahksiva can't warn Reast. Can we get clarification on what exactly should be happening, or if someone obviously smarter than me can explain it, I would be more than happy as I'm just sitting here scratching my head.

There's multiple ways to trigger that encounter. He questions the PCs which can also trigger that encounter without alerting Ahksiva.

Edit
Stealthing failure means if the PCs didn't find the sensors they are found out.

Scarab Sages 1/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Virginia—Richmond

Paul Kekanovich wrote:

In regards to the swine scopes, the success conditions mentions removing the eyes would mean that Ahksiva never notices the PCs, or the crit success says that Ahksiva remains unaware as they distract the eyes and that enemies in encounter B take a penalty.

This makes no sense as if they aren't spotted, then there shouldn't be an encounter in B because Ahksiva can't warn Reast. Can we get clarification on what exactly should be happening, or if someone obviously smarter than me can explain it, I would be more than happy as I'm just sitting here scratching my head.

I guess the PCs must infiltrate the sermon, or else Ahksiva notices them regardless of how well they rolled against the swine scopes. And if Ahksiva notices them, then she knows prepares for their arrival for the final combat AND alerts Reast Mycer. That's my interpretation , but I really dislike it. I too would like some official clarification.

Eric Nielsen wrote:
What isn't said, but I think has to be the case -- individual rolls by the characters do matter for IP. Ie in a party of 4, if all four roll successes, you;d award 4 IPs but only the success condition clue.

Yes, this makes sense and that's how Victory Points usually work.

1/5 *

The wording around the swine scopes is definitely a bit misleading. It reads"Ahksiva never (emphasis mine) notices the PCs through her magic," but that seems like "never" must actually mean "never during this particular opportunity." Otherwise, if the PCs don't go into the Guiding Light, the plot grinds to a halt.

I noticed that the Gretus's Chosen in Tier 1-2 and 3-4 both have 20 hit points. Anyone know if this might be an oversight? Every other creature which changes tiers get more hit points...on the other hand, the Chosen's other stats are increased between tiers, so I don't know what to think.

A few other minor quibbles I'd welcome input on:

* The text reads "the PCs approach the front of Toad Manor from the east," but the map has the front of the manor on the west side. Probably just a typo, unless I'm missing something?

* There is a bit about Ahksiva trying to take a character off by themselves and recruit/convert them, but no discussion of what happens next. What does she do if she gets a character alone, but then the character refuses to cooperate? Attack? That seems...rough.

**

Ran this yesterday.

For the first Investigation, to cut down on "roll overkill", I consolidated the Individual and Group rolls, reading Success/Failure entries while also Summing the Investigation Points. I feel as though this facilitated this phase as running smoothly and naturally.

I recommend using a Map as a visual cue to signify the three locations (which the Scenario does not provide) - this helped my players ground themselves in the Urban Investigation theme while organizing themselves appropriately to chase the leads "across town".

The first two Encounters are essentially Optional. Encounter A contingent upon a failure in the initial Investigation. Encounter B as contingent upon the Strategy of Approach the PCs choose, as well as the outcomes of the Dice. If my PCs wanted to split the party (they didn't), I would have allowed them to do so, starting them in different locations on the map.

Hope that helps? Cheers!

4/5 ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

I sketched maps of Admiral's Fen for Roll20 and Google Slides. They are on PFS Prep.

Also, am I the only one thinking of using this guy as the NPC art for Dalimus? Seems fitting.

Shadow Lodge 4/5 5/55/55/55/5 **** Venture-Captain, Indiana—Southern

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Doug Hahn wrote:

I sketched maps of Admiral's Fen for Roll20 and Google Slides. They are on PFS Prep.

Also, am I the only one thinking of using this guy as the NPC art for Dalimus? Seems fitting.

Very neat re: the maps.

...and our whole table started making sledge-o-matic pitches when we took a brief OOC break around that point in the scenario the other day, so tip-of-the-hat to you there, as well! :P

"Just to be silly."

Shadow Lodge 5/5 5/55/5 *** Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm not sure if my party got their secondary objective or not. When they were checking out the area, 3 found the eye, but one failed so they got spotted. But that says Reast recognizes them AFTER his sermon. When they tried to go inside, two made their deception and two failed - I let them in cause it's more interesting but I wasn't sure how to deal with that tie. As soon as the sermon was done, combat ensued.

The secondary success is that they remain unknown to Reast until after the sermon. I don't know if you even CAN tip him off beforehand though. This seems like exactly the kind of thing that would make it fail, but that's pretty harsh for one person failing their perception, so though I'd ask.

Grand Lodge 4/5 *** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

They are supposed to all get the result of the highest roll. So as long as one person made their success, the whole party wasn't spotted.

Grand Lodge 4/5 *** Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento

On our play through, we spotted the monsterous energy heading off into the swamp (detect magic) and then headed out there without ever going into the church.

Shadow Lodge 5/5 5/55/5 *** Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

Jared Thaler wrote:

They are supposed to all get the result of the highest roll. So as long as one person made their success, the whole party wasn't spotted.

Some of the (many) skill checks include that line, but this one does not. But I think there's enough that have it for me to assume it works here and let them have the secondary.

5/5 5/55/5 ***

I saw that Venture-Captain Hestia Themis was in The Devil We Know Part 1, so I cracked open my PFS1 folder in hopes of finding some art for her, and nothing.

Anybody else have any suggestions?

5/5 5/55/5 ***

Alright, so, during my Google search I found a French PFS website discussing this scenario, and it had THIS image for Themis. I'm not sure if it's correct, or where it was sourced, since I don't read French, but it's what I'm going with for tonight's game ^_^

Sovereign Court 4/5 5/5 ** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden

As far as anyone's been able to establish, there's simply no official art for her.

I'd imagined her maybe a bit older, but the dress seems to fit her kinda serious demeanor.

5/5 *

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

For any future playing of this scenario, there is a picture of Hestia Themis in the new Lost Omens Pathfinder Society book.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / PFS2 1-22 Doom of Cassomir All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion