Ghost+Alchemist Infusions=?


Rules Questions


If I’m an Alchemist with the Infusion Discovery, but I’m also a Ghost, can others still benefit from my extracts? Normally, a ghost of a Wizard could still cast spells on others, provided his spellbook wasn’t looted from his original body, but it seems to me that the extracts would be incorporeal, even though they are essentially spells. Is this correct?

If so, is there a way to make it work? Some kind of ghost touch gloves or something that can allow corporeal creatures to benefit from them?


So digging into it a little bit more, the Ghost Template says the following:

“When a ghost is created, it retains incorporeal “copies” of any items that it particularly valued in life (provided the originals are not in another creature’s possession). The equipment works normally for the ghost but passes harmlessly through material objects or creatures. A weapon of +1 or better magical enhancement, however, can harm material creatures, but any such attack deals only half as much damage (50%) unless it is a ghost touch weapon. A ghost can use shields or armor only if they have the ghost touch quality.”

Emphasis Mine.

It does say, however, that weapons and armor with the Ghost Touch special ability can, of course, allow full interaction with both incorporeal and corporeal objects. And, it specifically states that magic items (+1 weapons) are able to “harm material creatures”, albeit at 50% efficacy.

Since the Alchemy Class Feature says that extracts “behave like spells in potion form, and as such their effects can be dispelled by effects like dispel magic using the alchemist’s level as the caster level”, it would be very difficult to argue that an incorporeal extract wouldn’t have the same effect as a corporeal one, so long as the imbiber has some way of holding on to the potion, such as with a gauntlet with the Ghost Touch special property.

As such, I would rule that someone corporeal with a ghost touch gauntlet or similar could hold and subsequently imbibe an incorporeal extract, as long as the alchemist has the infusion discovery.

Thoughts?


A gauntlet of ghost touch holding a longsword does little for the longsword. Same as the potion.


Cavall wrote:
A gauntlet of ghost touch holding a longsword does little for the longsword. Same as the potion.

Is the longsword incorporeal? If it is, you can hold and use it as if it’s a corporeal sword. The ghost touch ability doesn’t affect the potion, but the equipment, like the small flask or vial that the extract is in. And, since we know that magic items and effects (even incorporeal ones or that come from an incorporeal source) can affect corporeal creatures (such as a ghost wizard casting a spell), there’s nothing saying that an incorporeal extract wouldn’t give its benefit normally. So I’m not sure what you’re saying.


Holding a corporeal object then expecting it to have an effect on you because the gauntlet allows you to hold it is not logical. Item held still doesnt effect the ghost. You're not doing much except making the rug stained.


Cavall wrote:
A gauntlet of ghost touch holding a longsword does little for the longsword. Same as the potion.

Maybe an Amulet of Mighty Fists with the Ghost Touch enchantment?

Maybe under the influence of the Mage Armor Spell?


Cavall wrote:
Holding a corporeal object then expecting it to have an effect on you because the gauntlet allows you to hold it is not logical. Item held still doesnt effect the ghost. You're not doing much except making the rug stained.

As I’ve said already, spells and other magical effects (which extracts literally say they behave like), can affect corporeal beings and objects. A “Disintegrate” cast by an incorporeal sorcerer still requires a save and has to bypass SR. So, logically, the magic of an extract would still affect anyone or anything who imbibes it, regardless of their material state, because it is magical. If there are any rules saying otherwise, I’d be interested to hear them, but several sources that I’ve called out specifically say otherwise.


Just use an Amulet of grasping souls.


Huge necro, but worth pointing out that incorporeal undead can't benefit from corporeal potions/extracts, so no reason to think that corporeal creatures can benefit from incorporeal ones.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ghost+Alchemist Infusions=? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.