Staves


Rules Discussion


I know that runed items can be upgraded for the difference in cost (going from striking to greater striking)...

Can the same be done with staves or other items that clock in at different levels?

If I have a Lvl 6 Staff of Abjuration and I want a Lvl 10 does it cost the full 900 to build from the ground up or does it cost 900-230=670 gp? Since you start with on partially built already?

TY


Unfortunately no. The runes seem to be the exception to this rule. There does not seem to be any rules to upgrade an item and the formula rules seem to support this, treating items of multiple types as their own separate item.

“Items with Multiple Types

If an item has multiple different levels, each type has its own formula, and you need the formula for the specific type of item you want to craft. For example if you have a formula for a type I Bag of Holding but not a type II Bag of holding you must acquire a separate formula to craft a type II Bag of holding.” —Core Rulebook pg 293

To hedge my bets a bit though, I would still wait for confirmation from someone else, as this seems like a thing that may have a rule still buried in the book that I may have missed.

Sczarni

That's how Pathfinder Society handles it.

If this is for a homegame, consult with your GM.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Nefreet wrote:

That's how Pathfinder Society handles it.

If this is for a homegame, consult with your GM.

I’m not sure that’s still true in Pathfinder 2, as much as I would like it to be.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Nefreet wrote:

That's how Pathfinder Society handles it.

If this is for a homegame, consult with your GM.

Which way does Pathfinder Society handle it? Your answer is unclear given that there are two posts before yours, each of which offers an opposite opinion, and neither of which you reference.

Sczarni

There is only one answer before mine, and I am agreeing with it.

The original post is a question.

If there had been multiple posts answering the question, and I was replying to one of them, I would quote it.

That was not necessary when I posted the first time.

(and in case there is any question about this post, it is addressed at mrspaghetti specifically - the post immediately prior to this one)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

@Nefreet: Actually I found it unclear as well, though I was inclined to think you were referring to Siro's post. Still, given the timing of the posts, I wasn't sure if you were indicating the "upgrading" approach suggested by the original poster was possible.

To the original issue, I *thought* there had been a statement at some point that the reason they did groupings like this was to make upgrading easier. I've been assuming upgrading is possible, though must admit, it hasn't come up in play to this point, so I haven't looked into it in any more depth.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Why wouldn't you be able to upgrade an existing staff?

Also, does ruling against it do anything to improve the game?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Doing some digging, I can't find any mention of upgrading in the CRB outside runes.

That said, I also agree with Ravingdork. Upgrading is convenient and I feel like it often ends up being better storytelling too and I don't think not allowing it really helps much.

Sczarni

I concur as well.

As a houserule, I would probably allow it in my homegames.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Staves All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.