Magical Shorthand


Pathfinder Society

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hmm How interesting.. The FAQ button disappeared from this thread...

5/5 Venture-Lieutenant, North Carolina—Raleigh

You have to own the Scroll or have access to a Spellbook before you can Learn a spell, or does it allow you to learn a spell you do not have in a spellbook or own as a scroll.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

You have to have to have the spell somehow. Either as a scroll, a spellbook, or for from an NPC that is teaching it to you.


How our GM did it today, while I listened:

+Downtiming Wizard has Magical Shorthand
+Access to spell granted by Society for Common spells (ex: Phantasmal Killer)
+GM decided the Task Level was based on the Scroll Level (ex: 7)
+Wizard succeeded at Magical Shorthand check using Assurance
+Wizard succeeded at Learn a Spell check using Assurance

= Wizard payed the difference between the spell's cost to learn and Earn Income table result, and added the spell to his spellbook.

Seems pretty legit to me but I'm wondering why there were two "checks" - I would probably do it as one.

Cheers!

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

As long as the GM signed off I am ok with it.

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, Missouri—Columbia

There should not have been two checks.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Jimmy Dick wrote:
There should not have been two checks.

I think you are right but using Assurance really bypasses that.

5/5 Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

I still really have no idea how this is supposed to work for downtime.

Grand Archive 4/5

Robert Hetherington wrote:
I still really have no idea how this is supposed to work for downtime.

It is crafting, but instead of making an item, you learn a spell.

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

That is pretty much what it is.

What, I think, is tripping people up is that Magical Shorthand can be used during an adventure if you have an hour or two to kill learning a spell. The whole downtime aspect of the feat is separate from the faster leaning of spells.

5/5 Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

Jared Thaler - Personal Opinion wrote:
Robert Hetherington wrote:
I still really have no idea how this is supposed to work for downtime.

It is crafting, but instead of making an item, you learn a spell.

That would be a totally reasonable position and make it work nicely, except for the fact that the feat says it works like Earn Income rather than works like Crafting.

Grand Archive 4/5

"This works as if you were using Earn Income with the tradition’s associated skill, but instead of gaining money, you choose a spell available to you to learn and gain a discount on learning it, learning it for free if your earned income equals or exceeds its cost."

Which is basically how crafting works. Only you don't have all the other baggage of crafting (needing a formula, needing to spend 4 days, needing to spend half the price on materials.)

People are making it more complicated than it needs to be or than the rules say it is.

5/5 Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I agree that's one of many possible interpretations. I just don't have a good sense of which is right, I'm happy that you feel more confident about it.

Grand Archive 4/5 5/55/5

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jared Thaler - Personal Opinion wrote:

People are making it more complicated than it needs to be or than the rules say it is.

Before all of the errata and OP rulings I'd say you were right. But now, there is no way to be confident what the intention is with anything. Does it seem to be obvious what the intent is? Just wait for some form of ruling or clarification 50% chance you were right.

*I remember when staves obviously could have property runes. I guess we were wrong about that assumption of intent.

*I remember when we assumed that clerics and druids had access to all common spells because....they always have. Looks like we were wrong.

I'd love for the simple answers to be right, but we cannot be sure about that anymore.

Here is the nitty gritty of Magical Shorthand that is not specified (you can argue and debate all you want, that doesn't change what the feat doesn't say):

1) Are the checks for Learning the Spell coupled together with or separate from the Earn Income check?

2) Is this treated similar to crafting for the task level or default as with other Earn Income checks?

Grand Archive 4/5

The thing is, being wrong about these things is pretty low stakes. We do our best and we move on. If we find out we were wrong, we fix it as best we can and move on.

Pick the one that makes the most sense to you, use that, and move on.

Grand Archive 4/5 5/55/5

It is not about the stakes, it is a deeper pointlessness. We have recieved errata and rulings that, half of which, seem whisical. Accompanying these are subtle little jabs about the players misunderstanding the intent. It all culminates into a pointlessness in attempting to derive intent because the whimsical fairy could come by at a random time and go against all of the logical attempts to grasp at the intent, teetering afterward that we should have known that was the intent. On top of that, there was errata that wasn't even listed. People had to spot it and bring attention to it.

Discuss rules if you all like, I no longer see the point.

Grand Archive 4/5

Mark Seifer *literally* just stated that any confusion or misunderstanding was squarely the responsibility of the publishers for doing a poor job expressing the rules. Where are you getting the idea that they are taking jabs at the players?

And the reason that it takes so long to get these corrections, is that they are going out of their way to *avoid* being whimsical and arbitrary.

2/5 5/5

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber
Quote:
*I remember when staves obviously could have property runes.

I know it's off topic, but where was this errata? #1 or #2?

Liberty's Edge 3/5 5/5 Venture-Captain, Nebraska—Omaha

Errata #1.
Remember. The reason why there are two is because the errata couldn't fit on one webpage. Search for page 592.

51 to 69 of 69 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Magical Shorthand All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society