Fabricate rules? Can you just make cubes of raw material from an item?


Advice


Party found adamantine arrows. Am I reading this right? Can Fabricate be used to convert an adamantine arrowhead into a cubic foot of raw adamantine?

Edit: false alarm. It looks like the value of the end product can't exceed the value of the item used for the spell component.


No fabricate can't "convert an adamantine arrowhead into a cubic foot of raw adamantine?".

Fabricate only re-arranges what is there; it does not create new material. An adamantine arrowhead is less than 1 cubic inch of adamantine, and that's all you've got (and that's a generous assumption that the head is solid adamantine, not just a inlay over the edges on a steel base).

However, the end product of a fabricate spell can most definitely exceed the value of the items used for the spell component. PF approximates crafting as needing raw material worth 1/3 of the sale price of the finished object. With a pile of steel ingots, some leather and some thread worth a total of 50 gp, you could make a 150 gp suit of chainmail. If you have high enough craft checks, you can make a masterwork suit of chainmail, worth 300 gp...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Fabricate rules? Can you just make cubes of raw material from an item? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.