Spirit of the Corps and Ring of Tactical Precision, as well as other interactions


Rules Questions


So, I tried searching the forums on this and was unable to find an answer.

Lets say I have a 4th level hunter, riding their animal companion and they have the teamwork feat Spirit of the corps. Additionally, the hunter is wearing a ring of tactical precision.

Now, the bard in the group casts Heroism on the animal companion. If the hunter activates Spirit of the Corps on their turn to use with an attack. Do they get +2 or +3 on that roll?

On a side note, if I'm wearing a ring of tactical precision and I have the feat Swarm Scatter and I'm next to two allies who also have it. Do I get a +3 to my AC (+2 for two allies and +1 from the ring) or would it actually give me +4 to my AC (+2 for each of two allies)? Based on the wording my inclination is that I only end up with a +3, but I'm not sure.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
LordKailas wrote:

So, I tried searching the forums on this and was unable to find an answer.

Lets say I have a 4th level hunter, riding their animal companion and they have the teamwork feat Spirit of the corps. Additionally, the hunter is wearing a ring of tactical precision.

Now, the bard in the group casts Heroism on the animal companion. If the hunter activates Spirit of the Corps on their turn to use with an attack. Do they get +2 or +3 on that roll?

The companion has a +2 bonus from heroism. Spirit of the Corps is a teamwork feat that allows that bonus to be shared with the Hunter. Ring of Tactial Precision adds +1 to any numeric bonus shared through a teamwork feat. So, I'd say the Hunter gets +3.

LordKailas wrote:
On a side note, if I'm wearing a ring of tactical precision and I have the feat Swarm Scatter and I'm next to two allies who also have it. Do I get a +3 to my AC (+2 for two allies and +1 from the ring) or would it actually give me +4 to my AC (+2 for each of two allies)? Based on the wording my inclination is that I only end up with a +3, but I'm not sure.

This is less clear, but I'd agree that +3 makes the most sense.


CBDunkerson wrote:
This is less clear, but I'd agree that +3 makes the most sense.

yeah... and I just thought of something else to add to the confusion further.

In the second scenario assuming the arrangement is as follows:

AM
A

where:
A = Ally
M = Me

Do each of my allies get a +2, +3 or +4 to AC? Since the ring states that it also increases bonuses I give.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
LordKailas wrote:

yeah... and I just thought of something else to add to the confusion further.

In the second scenario assuming the arrangement is as follows:

AM
A

where:
A = Ally
M = Me

Do each of my allies get a +2, +3 or +4 to AC? Since the ring states that it also increases bonuses I give.

This actually seems much clearer. Normally, with the feat you'd give each ally a +1 bonus. With the feat you instead give each of them +2. They are also adjacent to each other and thus give another +1 to each, for a total of +3.


Yeah that makes sense. It's strange to me that between a pair of feats (Auspicious Birth[Conjunction]+Saoc Brethren Initiate), an item (Ring of Tactical Precision) and a mythic feat(Legendary Teamwork) (that all do similiar things). The mythic feat ends up being the weakest one.

Though based on our discussion it looks like if I had all four of them active In the 1st example with heroism the hunter would get a +6 and in the second example I would get a +6 to AC and each of my allies would get a +5.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spirit of the Corps and Ring of Tactical Precision, as well as other interactions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.