Wereshark Skinwalker abilities

Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

A Wereshark Skinwalker can choose between Amphibious OR Swim Speed upon transforming. My question is: why are these two abilities separate?

Amphibious is a particular case of Aquatic Subtype

Universal Monster Rules, Amphibious (Ex) wrote:

Creatures with this special quality have the aquatic subtype, but they can survive indefinitely on land.

and the Aquatic Subtype always grants swim speed

Aquatic Subtype wrote:
These creatures always have swim speeds and can move in water without making Swim checks. An aquatic creature can breathe water. It cannot breathe air unless it has the amphibious special quality. Aquatic creatures always treat Swim as a class skill.

So why is the swim speed a different ability?

As it is, I don't see the point of being Amphibian, having the Aquatic Subtype, being able to breath underwater, and yet not having a swim speed. I know of the existence of the Extra Feature feat, but I don't see the point of having to waste a feat slot to get two abilities that should already be merged in one either.

Am I missing something?

Aquatic Creature (CR +0)[3pp]Aquatic creatures dwell within seas and lakes, mainly along coastal regions.

If the creature dwells exclusively underwater, it gains the aquatic subtype and replaces its land or fly speed with an identical swim speed. If the creature is able to also travel on land, it gains the amphibious special quality, reduces its land speed by 10 ft., loses any fly speed, and acquires a swim speed equal to its original speed. An aquatic creature also gains low-Light vision 60 ft.

Well, you might be missing the bit I italicised.

If you take the swim speed you don't lose some things. I agree it's not much.

And the Extra Feature feat allows you to take any 2 of your bestial features when you assume your bestial form. So it isn't pointless. But whether it is a good use of a feat is another question.

Gray Warden wrote:
and the Aquatic Subtype always grants swim speed

Actually, no - it says "These creatures always have swim speeds and can move in water without making Swim checks." That's not actually rule text but rather informatory text and reminder text - it doesn't grant anything. Basically, it just says that a creatures with that subtype is supposed to also have a swim speed.

We kinda have to go by presumption here, because the stuff is very badly written (what else is new for Skinwalkers?). I'm pretty sure the the Amphibious bestial feature is supposed to only grant you the ability to breath both water and air (and probably grant Swim as a class skill).

@Joynt Jezebel: What you've quoted is a third party template. The bestial feature references a monster ability, which references a subtype. Neither references a template. So what you've quoted and based your post on not only has absolutely nothing to do with the topic and the rules involved, it isn't even written by Paizo.
Also, you didn't italicise, you bolded. Just saying.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wereshark Skinwalker abilities All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.