Exotic Heritage + Eldritch Heritage (Sylvan) > Boon Companion?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

I've seen plenty of discussion about taking the Sylvan bloodline with Eldritch Heritage. This is not about that. What I haven't found addressed is whether one can take Boon Companion through these feats. It seems people are assuming it can but Boon Companion's prerequisite is Animal Companion (or Familiar) class feature. The key part here for me is "class feature". Does the Animal Companion bloodline power count as a class feature or not?


Class feature basically doesn't mean anything. If it did then it would mean that druids can't take boon companion because they technically don't have a class feature called animal companion. They have a class feature called nature bond that grants them an animal companion. Similarly, wizards wouldn't be able to take boon companion because they do not have a class feature called Familiar. They have a class feature called arcane bond that gives them a familiar.

Ignoring Eldritch heritage for a moment, we see that Sorcerers with the Sylvan bloodline don't have a class feature called animal companion. They have a bloodline power that gives them an animal companion. Similarly, taking the sylvan bloodline via Eldritch heritage grants you that same ability. So, if sorcerers can take it then anyone with the feat can too.

If a DM wanted to I suppose they could take a strict interpretation of the feat, but doing so would severely limit what classes can take it. So, to answer your question yes it does count. Because if you treat it literally then only Hunters and a few other classes that actually get a class feature called "animal companion" would even qualify.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I think the only thing that stops you from doing this is that the Exotic Heritage feat gives you the 1st level power of a wildblooded bloodline but not its bloodline arcana -- and the Animal Companion is both the 1st level power and the bloodline arcana for the Sylvan bloodline.


The animal companion is your bloodline arcana it just also removes your level 1 power as well. So you can’t get it this way as it only gives you your level 1 power

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Exotic Heritage + Eldritch Heritage (Sylvan) > Boon Companion? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.