Certainty operative exploit


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does the reroll reaction include if you took a 10 and that result isn't high enough for the DC?

also i assume no, but does this also allow one to reroll their trick attack?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I believe that you would need to choose to reroll BEFORE learning the results, without the ability sa tung otherwise, so there would be no point in trying to combine Certainty and Take 10.

I don't see any reason that you wouldn't be able to use Certainty with Trick Attack, though.


HammerJack wrote:

I believe that you would need to choose to reroll BEFORE learning the results, without the ability sa tung otherwise, so there would be no point in trying to combine Certainty and Take 10.

I don't see any reason that you wouldn't be able to use Certainty with Trick Attack, though.

Seeing as you can only use certainty with your specialization skill which you get Skill Focus in automatically and once you're a lvl 7 operative you can take 10 in any circumstance... seems like certainty loses a lot of reason for taking it...

that said, if I can reroll a trick attack attempt - now that is useful.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

That's going to depend on how many DCs you run into that have been set high enough to compensate for the Take 10 nonsense existing . Trick Attack, which has a standard CR-based formula, will likely only benefit from Certainty at level 6, exactly.

Also, remember that if you take Marked for Death, everything changes, because you don't have Specialization Skill Mastery.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Certainty operative exploit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.