If I rolled a natural 20 on a check, can I get a success if the sum doesn't beat the DC?
Take an orc brute with a +7 attack modifier, for example. If he attacks a high level adventurer with AC 28, and rolls a natural 20, what happens?
Does he miss because he didn't make the DC in the first place? Or does the natural 20 bump it up one step (to a success) whether or not he meets the DC?
In another thread (maybe the one about wizards at war?) somebody quoted how attack rules are more specific and award a critical success on a 20, not just a step bump (which as MaxAstro pointed out, is the default).
Whether that's an intentional difference or a lingering discrepancy that needs an errata, who knows. It seems pretty important when desperate enemies (perhaps w/ picks) are taking their 3rd swings!
I suspect it's a discrepancy that needs fixing.
So to be 100% immune to the level 0 orc brute, I'd need an AC of 38?
There's also flanking, aid another, and shenanigans, but as for in principle, yes. If the errata's needed, then crit failures bump only to a failure. Actually 37 AC, since the Orc is +7, so on a 20 still is -10 to your AC.
So that guy on the war thread talking about the naked, spell-less, level 13 Wizard vs. 2000 Orc Brutes (who would need leaders simply to coalesce!) was quite wrong.
With Mage Armor 6th or 8th (+2), 20 Dex (+5), Expert Proficiency (+4), one could manage at 16th level (18th w/ no spells, 19th if they also started w/ 14 Dex).
So yes, a wizard who thwarts the plots of deities might finally be able to, naked & spell-less, fight an army of barely competent goons who use no tactics whatsoever.
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
The devs chimed in on the attack roll thing and clarified that it's written poorly. Attack rolls are supposed to follow the same rules as every other test - a natural 20 increases degree of success by one step.
Don't suppose you can remember where? It would be really useful for our organised play group.
|First World Bard|