Does a biohacker using a caustoject to deliver a biohack inflict damage with the attack?


Rules Questions


13 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Syringes can be loaded into these weapons, allowing other materials to be quickly injected instead of an acidic discharge (in which case only the injection effect occurs—no acid damage is dealt).

You can deliver any biohack you create with any attack from an injection weapon. You must declare prior to the attack roll that you are using a biohack and specify which effect you are using, but you select and apply the biohack as part of the action used to make the attack. You do not need to preload your weapon with biohacks.

So is the biohack a chemical thats injected into the vial, or just "its a biohack don't worry about it" ?


Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Judging by the text from the biohack description from the COM page 42:

Does a biohacher using a caustoject to deliver a biohack inflict damage with the attack?

-You have to damage the target in order for the biohack to take effect. If you do not damage the target, the biohack cannot be delivered and is expended.

As for the caustoject, COM page 123, if the syringe is used instead, and you do not damage the target, the biohack would be have no effect if the material in the syringe did no damage to the target.
If the contents of the syringe do damage the target, then you can deliver the biohack.

So..
It’s a biohack you don’t have to worry about.


Using a caustoject's normal attack would function fine for a biohack, but against an acid-immune target, the syringe option for that weapon does becomes viable, as does the question. FAQ button clicked.


huh, so if i use a biohack it doesn't do acid damage? how does that work with loading poisons? since typically the injection has to do damage to deliver the poison, is it an exception to the rule and if you hit it auto delivers the poison (even if the normal acid damage wouldn't bypass resistance)? I have a biohacker with which I was going to use the caustoject with to target eac when delivering poisons but now have no idea how that would work...


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

There have been quite a few threads around Caustojects (and similar weapons) and there interactions especially with Biohacker abilities. Would be nice to get some clarity and hopefully marking this thread for FAQ might help get us that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Starfinder Casper wrote:
huh, so if i use a biohack it doesn't do acid damage?

No - using the caustoject normally does acid and injection. Biohacks work with any attack from an injection weapon, so you're good there.

However, this weapon has extra language saying that you can optionally choose to load syringes into it (i.e. serums or medicinals) which than deal 0 damage and only inject their substances into their targets. That's what the question here is asking, whether or not a biohack can be used from an injection weapon that deals 0 damage.

(The answer to this question will also carry over to 0 damage injection weapons like the wasp-sting family of sniper weapons, too, which is neat)


Also loading poisons into an injection weapon that does 0 damage.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Was hoping I could edit my post and link the other too Caustoject threads but too late. These are the other two threads on Caustojects:

Thread One

Thread Two

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Does a biohacker using a caustoject to deliver a biohack inflict damage with the attack? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.