Magus Spellstrike and Improved Critical Stamina Trick


Rules Questions


When using the improved critical stamina trick to deal double damage, does the spell from a magus spellstrike get doubled since it inherits the weapon's crit range?

Improved Critical (Combat): When you hit with an attack and the roll fails to threaten a critical hit by 3 or less, you can spend 5 stamina points to attempt to deal double damage anyway. Roll as if confirming a critical hit. If this confirmation roll succeeds, your attack is still not a critical hit, but it deals double damage.[/quote wrote:

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I would say No.
The spell damage isn't part of the weapon damage and the Magus ability trigger on a successful critical.
On the other hand, it seems to work for spells that double damage on a critical hit, as you roll the attack to see if the spell hit, not to see if a weapon hit.
That interpretation makes it extremely powerful, as it means that you get the equivalent of a potential critical hit with Disintegration, Energy Drain, Enervation or similar spells with a roll of 16+.


A magus can already threaten a crit with ray spells on a 15+ (with the close range arcana). This would essentially change that to an 12+.

Having said that I think Diego Rossi is correct - the spell is not a part of the weapon, so it would only deal double damage on a crit, and this ability specifically says it's not a crit.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
MrCharisma wrote:

A magus can already threaten a crit with ray spells on a 15+ (with the close range arcana). This would essentially change that to an 12+.

A magus needs Close range arcana, is limited to 6th level spell (so Disintegrate but not Energy Drain) and needs another arcana to get Enervation. And he needs to be in hand to hand combat unless he takes a specific archetype. Still powerful.

This ability allows the caster to use it on ranged spells.
The big limiter is that you need improved critical, and that requires a high level for pure casters.


Yeah, I think you are right and It does not work. The wording was vague enough that I was hoping. I am assuming that it would let you double spell damage that requires an attack roll as long as its a 17+ on the die then?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus Spellstrike and Improved Critical Stamina Trick All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.