Antimagic and the spells it doesn't stop can you cast them?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I was looking at antimagic in regards to mythic beings (mainly would they come back to life if the field vanished after a thousand years or had they missed their ressurection window) anyway I noticed that there are a number of spells it specifically doesn't affect which I hadn't noticed before. So what I'm wondering if you are already in the antimagic field can you still cast them?

For example a wizard is going along minding their own business when a group of anti-casters launches an attack and triggers and antimagic scroll on them negating most of their abilities. Now it say's . . .

Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field. Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this.

So assuming the wizard had them memorized could they still cast say a prismatic sphere around themselves or a wall of force between them and the attackers or does the spell need to be in existence prior to the antimagic field coming into effect?


Antimagic stops mortal spellcasting, even if certain effects are unaffected given that they are already in place.


As stated above, the effects of those spells persist in areas of anti magic, but the process of casting the spell itself is disrupted. Similarly any spell of the conjuration (creation) sub school with an instantaneous duration will also function within an anti magic field but cannot be cast from within.


I mean, RAW, AMF never says it stops you from casting spells while inside of it.


Casting is invoking magic, and if all magic is suppressed it cannot be invoked or take effect.


there is a table and while it doesn't mention spell casting it does mention spell like ability and such. and sicne antimagic even stop spell liek abilities that are a 'less casting intense' then spell casting spell casting would even more be effected.

also the 1st two parts of antimagic in the magic section clearly make it obvious

"1. No supernatural ability, spell-like ability, or spell works in an area of antimagic (but extraordinary abilities still work).
2. Antimagic does not dispel magic; it suppresses it..."

Scarab Sages

The problem I have is the statements I've bolded below in the spell description. First it say's the antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought int, or cast into the area but does not dispel it. So it doesn't actually prevent you from casting spells it just suppresses them when they move from inside you to inside the area. Then it goes on to say certain spells listing 3 are unafected by anti-magic field (I also don't like the such as because it impiles there are others such as a force spell but that's a different debate) and function normally. So reading this it seems like wall of force and spells with the prismatic descriptor can be cast and function as normal in an antimagic field. It's also worth noting that the spell description say's "Most magical effects" not all before listing most magical effects then going onto the exceptions where it doesn't apply. So it doesn't suppress everthing looking at the spell.

It calls out spells, items, etc but never once mentions spellcasting except in regards to the fact that most spells if cast into the sphere don't work but some do. So to me RAI seem to be that anti-magic field is designed to have this weakness to suppress most spells but not actually interfere with spellcasting so BBEG wizard will still have options if the party brings an antimagic field to the table. You shut down most of his spells but he can still hit the party with a prismatic spray or hide inside a prismatic sphere even from inside the antimagic field.

As I said I always used to think it just shut down all spellcasting and items it was only when I actually took a close look at the spell that I noticed all the excpetions to what it worked on.

This isn't even touching on things like why spell resistance can prevent a summoned creature from dissapearing or why a magic sword loses its abilities but a construct continues working because magic was imbued into it during creation which you'd think applied to magic items. However again that's a different issue.

Antimagic Field
An invisible barrier surrounds you and moves with you. The space within this barrier is impervious to most magical effects, including spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities. Likewise, it prevents the functioning of any magic items or spells within its confines.

An antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought into, or cast into the area, but does not dispel it. Time spent within an antimagic field counts against the suppressed spell's duration.

Summoned creatures of any type wink out if they enter an antimagic field. They reappear in the same spot once the field goes away. Time spent winked out counts normally against the duration of the conjuration that is maintaining the creature. If you cast antimagic field in an area occupied by a summoned creature that has spell resistance, you must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against the creature's spell resistance to make it wink out. (The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only its result.)

A normal creature can enter the area, as can normal missiles. Furthermore, while a magic sword does not function magically within the area, it is still a sword (and a masterwork sword at that). The spell has no effect on golems and other constructs that are imbued with magic during their creation process and are thereafter self-supporting (unless they have been summoned, in which case they are treated like any other summoned creatures). Elementals, corporeal undead, and outsiders are likewise unaffected unless summoned. These creatures' spell-like or supernatural abilities may be temporarily nullified by the field. Dispel magic does not remove the field.

Two or more antimagic fields sharing any of the same space have no effect on each other. Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field. Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this.

Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field.


"Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field"
that is for spells that are already in effect, not the act of spellcasting.
that is under "it prevents the functioning of any magic items or spells within its confines."


zza ni wrote:

"Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field"

that is for spells that are already in effect, not the act of spellcasting.
that is under "it prevents the functioning of any magic items or spells within its confines."

If you use the word "spells" in the second quote to explain why spellcasting is prohibited, then the first quote must allow casting those specific spells. ;D

RAW it never says that it stops the act of casting spells, just that their effects are suppressed. (Casting a spell and its effect are vastly different things.)

Scarab Sages

willuwontu wrote:
zza ni wrote:

"Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field"

that is for spells that are already in effect, not the act of spellcasting.
that is under "it prevents the functioning of any magic items or spells within its confines."

If you use the word "spells" in the second quote to explain why spellcasting is prohibited, then the first quote must allow casting those specific spells. ;D

RAW it never says that it stops the act of casting spells, just that their effects are suppressed. (Casting a spell and its effect are vastly different things.)

Which is what i noticed and pronpted this thread. It never once mentions the actual act of spellcasting and does mention specific spells, creatures and effects that can protect against it or arent affected by it.


The spell itself makes it sound as though casting remains possible, yes. But the section on Antimagic in the Magic section of the rule book is very clear on the matter.

“ 1. No supernatural ability, spell-like ability, or spell works in an area of antimagic (but extraordinary abilities still work).”

Quite direct. Supernatural abilities, spell-like abilities, and spells do not function within an area of antimagic. Full halt. If you are in the field you can’t use magic.

Magical effects that enter into the field or were in effect when the field was created are suppressed. It is odd that it does mention “used within” though... it creates a bit of a contradiction within the rules. The rules flat out say you can’t use magic from inside the field, and magic items are considered non-magical while inside the field. There is no way to use magic items inside an antimagic field as their magic is suppressed preventing you from even activating them.

Scarab Sages

Supernatural ability: Spellcasting is not a supernatural ability its untyped.
Spell-like ability: Again spellcasting is not a spell like ability its casting spells.
Spell: Directly countered by the antimagic spell itself that states 3 spells that do work in it.

None of those thing is spell CASTING. The only one that applies is spells and that states "No spell works" which is directly countered by antimagic field stating "These spells do work."

Then you have things like an summons where the spell say's . . .

Summoned creatures of any type wink out if they enter an antimagic field. They reappear in the same spot once the field goes away. Time spent winked out counts normally against the duration of the conjuration that is maintaining the creature. If you cast antimagic field in an area occupied by a summoned creature that has spell resistance, you must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against the creature’s spell resistance to make it wink out.

So you have another magical spell (two really) which can exist in an antimagic field. If you fail your check vs the spell resistance (which is a spell) then the summon (which is a spell) does not wink out. UNLESS per the reading here it leaves and re-enters the field in which case the spell resistance doesn't apply as your now not casting the field into an area occupied by it and apparently both spells are suppressed.

We also have the odd little rider in the above. . .

(The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only its result.)

so even create water which disappears after 1 day if not consumed continues to exist just fine. So magically created water again continues to exist just fine in an antimagic field though it dissapears after a day even if you store it in a canteen.

Then we have . . .

The spell has no effect on golems and other constructs that are imbued with magic

This at least makes sense (with the excpetion of an iron golems breath weapon that would be suppressed) as most golem abilities are extrordinary.

So we have a lot of cases where anti-magic does not actually apply.

1) Artifacts and Dieties (Not likely to involve a player but its an exception).
2) Beings imbued with magic e.g. golems.
3) Summoned Beings with spell resistance as long as they have antimagic cast on them rather than entering it apparently.
4) Spells that have a duration of instantaneous.
5) Spells such as force wall, prismatic sphere and prismatic spray.
6) Elementals, Undead and Outsiders if not summoned (though abilities may be suppressed).

That's a lot of exceptions and even the spell itself say's MOST magical effects not all. Even its own description does not say cancel/dispell/negate or the like its suppress a very different concept. We know constructs that have internal magic are not affected, a sorcerer or the like has internal magic. Still lets look at the antimagic section in magic (bearing in mind the specific antimagic spell may have different rules to the general ones).

Ok first sentence is already different to the spell.

General: An antimagic field spell or effect cancels magic altogether.
Specific: The space within this barrier is impervious to most magical effects, including spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities.

So right off the bat we see the spell is different to normal antimagic effects. The normal rule is antimagic affects ALL, the specific is MOST. The normal is CANCELS, the specific is impervious. Different concepts lets move on.

Rule 1
No supernatural ability, spell-like ability, or spell works in an area of antimagic (but extraordinary abilities still work).

Antimagic field Spell
Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field.

Another difference the general is ALL spells don't work, the specific is CERTAIN SPELLS WORK. Big difference there.

Rule 2
Antimagic does not dispel magic; it suppresses it. Once a magical effect is no longer affected by the antimagic (the antimagic fades, the center of the effect moves away, and so on), the magic returns. Spells that still have part of their duration left begin functioning again, magic items are once again useful, and so forth.

Ok this contradicts the first sentence and match's up with the spell it doesn't cancel the magic it suppresses it. So move on again.

Rule 3 and 4
Doesn't really apply it talks about spell centers and effect which makes sense although it does differ a little to the spell its not enough to be an issue.

Rule 5
Summoned or conjured creatures of any type, as well as incorporeal creatures, wink out if they enter the area of an antimagic effect. They reappear in the same spot once the field goes away.

Antimagic field spell
If you cast antimagic field in an area occupied by a summoned creature that has spell resistance, you must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against the creature’s spell resistance to make it wink out.

Another difference the general rule is ALL summoned creatures wink out, the specific say's ones with SR require a check to make them wink out. Which also contradicts rule 1. The SR spell functions if antimagic is cast on a creature with it and can allow said creature to also violate rule 1.

Rule 6
Again no real difference here.

Rule 8
Wall of force, prismatic wall, and prismatic sphere are not affected by antimagic. Break enchantment, dispel magic, and greater dispel magic spells do not dispel antimagic. Mage’s disjunction has a 1% chance per caster level of destroying an antimagic field. If the antimagic field survives the disjunction, no items within it are disjoined.

Antimagic field
Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field.

Agree with each other but intresting wording shift. The general is just these spells, the speciifc is spells such as. One implies there's other spells that will work, the other says its only these ones. However both again contradict rule 1. You will also notice in all these rules there is no mention of spellcasting only spells and it includes spells that are NOT affected by the field.

So we have a lot of exceptions, several internal contradictions, no mention of spellcasting specifically vs spells the two are different and no as far as I know defination of spellcasting as a supernatural ability. So for me it seems RAI is that a wizard in an anti-magic field can still cast certain spells which makes sense both thematically and internally since you aren't going to want to have a spell below 9th level that can completely negate an entire classes primary ability. The wizard loses most of their abilities but they still have at least 3 spells they can use to protect or attack.

EDIT
Had to go and pick my sister up from the station.

I'd like to conclude by pointing you at the spellcraft skill. This is starts off with . . .

You are skilled at the art of casting spells, identifying magic items, crafting magic items, and identifying spells as they are being cast.

Right off the bat we see this skill is used in the art of CASTING spells implying that spell casting is a skill not an ability and thus would not be affected by the spell. However lets go further into it. After a range of DC's that admitedly don't involve spell casting we get a restatement of the original sentence with . . .

Common Uses
Spellcraft is used whenever your knowledge and skill of the technical art of casting a spell or crafting a magic item comes into question.

If there is a reason you may have difficulty casting a spell this is the skill that is supposed to be used to resolve that issue. Of course in practice it seems like its never actually used as caster level checks are D20 + caster level, concentration checks are D20 + stat bonus and even counterspell its only used to identify what the opposing spell is. Even USING magic items has its own section. Still the spellcraft descriptions do tend to indicate spellcasting is meant to be a skill not an ability superantural or otherwise and this is further supported by the fact a wizard is specifically identified as not having inherent magical powers like a sorcerer.

A case could be made a wizard can't cast inside an antimagic zone as the magical energeies are suppressed but that's a different debate.


People can cast inside Antimagic Zone, but the spell will be depressed.

They however can't cast inside Echean's Excellent Enclosure

Otherwise that spell is useless. Notice it also says you cant cast into or out of it, unlike Antimagic Field in which instantaneous conjuration still works.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Antimagic and the spells it doesn't stop can you cast them? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.