Sacramental Alchemist


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Rulebook Subscriber

If I take the healing domain as a Sacramental Alchemist, using the cognatogen, does the empowered cures from the healing domain effect
a) his healing bomb,
b) cure X wounds extracts, or
c) neither?


C. Bombs are not spells, and extracts are not spells.


EXTRACTS wrote:
In many ways, they behave like spells in potion form, and as such their effects can be dispelled by effects like dispel magic using the alchemist’s level as the caster level. Unlike potions, though, extracts can have powerful effects and duplicate spells that a potion normally could not.
POTIONS wrote:
Potions are like spells cast upon the imbiber.
A creature that takes a direct hit from a healing bomb is healed as if she had imbibed the infusion or potion used to create the bomb.

I dunno. It's not definitive, but there's definitely an argument there.


Are extracts eligibile to have metamagic feats applied?


That' a good question.

Potions are, so Healing Bomb using empowered potions would work (although they'd have to be crafted empowered).

How would it work if you use your sacramental cognatogen while crafting potions, then used said potions with healing bombs?


Does an alchemist qualify for prestige classes that require you to be able to cast spells of x level? Does eschew materials apply to their extracts?

If so, yes it applies. If not, then no.

My take is that they do not qualify for prestige classes that require you to be able to cast spells, and that eschew materials doesn't work for them. Thus they wouldn't benefit from the healing domain.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sacramental Alchemist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.