Can an Arcanist without a spellbook recover spell slots?


Rules Questions


Quote:

An arcanist casts arcane spells drawn from the sorcerer/wizard spell list, presented in Chapter 10 of the Core Rulebook. An arcanist must prepare her spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, her spells are not expended when they’re cast. Instead, she can cast any spell that she has prepared consuming a spell slot of the appropriate level, assuming she hasn’t yet used up her spell slots per day for that level.

[...]

An arcanist must choose and prepare her spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying her spellbook. While studying, the arcanist decides what spells to prepare and refreshes her available spell slots for the day.

If an Arcanist, for whatever, doesn't have a spellbook, can they replenish their spell slots without changing their spells prepared, keeping the previous day's spell selection?

Scarab Sages

Short answer
Yes.

Long answer
I've always treated it as yes. They can't change their spells or add new ones without a spellbook but they do retain the ones they memorized. I view it as ...

1) Wizard precasts each day from their book and has X spells ready to go as soon as they perform the trigger. If they dont cast the spell it remains till they do but once cast they need a spellbook to prepare a new spell for that slot.

Day 1: Precasts 1st level spell.
Day 2: no change.
Day 3: Casts 1st level spell.
Day 4: Precasts 1st level spell.

2) Sorcerer figures out how to manipulate their power to achieve an effect and uses a bit of power any time they cast but never forgets how to achieve that effect.

Day 1: Learns 1st level spell.
Day 2: Casts 1st level spell, recovers power while sleeping.
Day 3: Casts 1st level spell, recovers power while sleeping.
Day 4: Casts 1st level spell, recovers power while sleeping.

3) Arcanists are sorcerers who have learnt that recording your spells allows you to have more as you dont need to remember them all exactly just the ones your using.

Day 1: Refreshes their memory of a 1st level spell.
Day 2: Casts 1st level spell, recovers power while sleeping.
Day 3: Casts 1st level spell, recovers power while sleeping.
Day 4: Studies and refreshes their memory of a different 1st level spell.

Basically wizard knows no spells but has ones from a book waiting to be unleashed when they complete them, Arcanists know a few spells well enough to cast from memory but need to look up ones they arent using often (was it ferda din or ferda don), sorcerers know wuat they use perfectly but dont keep a record of ones they dont to cover imperfect memory.


spell casting wrote:
An arcanist must choose and prepare her spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying her spellbook. While studying, the arcanist decides what spells to prepare and refreshes her available spell slots for the day.
spellbooks wrote:
An arcanist must study her spellbook each day to prepare her spells. She can’t prepare any spell not recorded in her spellbook, except for read magic (which all arcanists can prepare from memory).
spell selection and preparation (magic chapter) wrote:
Until he prepares spells from his spellbook, the only spells a wizard has available to cast are the ones that he already had prepared from the previous day and has not yet used. During the study period, he chooses which spells to prepare. If a wizard already has spells prepared (from the previous day) that he has not cast, she can abandon some or all of them to make room for new spells.

Unfortunately, there is no direct answer to this question, and you have to bounce around a little to find relevant entries for this action. The first two quotes are from the Arcanist description of abilities. The last quote is from the magic chapter in the CRB. It is strongly suggested and backed up in certain FAQ entries that the term Wizard is synonymous with prepared arcane caster when referring to information which predates the addition of the newer prepared casters, such as the Arcanist. It is also reinforced by the wording of the abilities for Wizard and Arcanist as they are practically a cut and paste (substituting words as needed for class and gender differences). All this is to say, again, it is strongly suggested but not actually said that a prepared caster must have their spellbook to memorize spells. I will easily concede that there is an argument against this interpretation, the largest being that an Arcanist does not release spells as a Wizard does, so needs not actually choose new spells each day (albeit locking in the current choices), just refreshing slots as a Sorcerer does. My interpretation is based on the requirements for the Wizard half of selecting spells so that its Sorcerer half can expend slots to cast them. This interpretation allows the two disparate rules to interact with each other and make sense from their source material without making one or the other superfluous in the process.


I think you’re suggesting that a spellbook is required to replenish your spell slots, whether you replace any prepared spells or not. In this case, you could use a spare spellbook to prepare spells and not replace the prepared spells that you wanted to hang on to, even if those spells are not in your spare spellbook.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

You can always prepare Read Magic, even without a spellbook.
That allows you to prepare all the spell slots (if you have slept long enough and don't have used them in the last 8 hours) leaving them empty or loading Read Magic in them.
Wizards and other prepared spellcasters can leave open slots when preparing spells and load them at a later time, so what you really need is a fresh mind and the time to meditate.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can an Arcanist without a spellbook recover spell slots? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.