Grab and Shield Block


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Companion, Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Grab monster ability wrote:

Requirements The monster’s last action was a success with a Strike that lists Grab in its damage entry, or it has a creature grabbed using this action. Effect The monster automatically Grabs the target until the end of the monster’s next turn. The creature is grabbed by whichever body part the monster attacked with, and that body part can’t be used to Strike creatures until the grab is ended.

Using Grab extends the duration of the monster’s Grab until the end of its next turn for all creatures grabbed by it. A grabbed creature can use the Escape action to get out of the grab, and the Grab ends for a grabbed creatures if the monster moves away from it.

What happens if a monster makes a successful strike, but all the damage is successfully prevented with Shield Block? Does the monster Grab the PC? the shield? neither?

In the absence of any clear rules text, I'm leaning toward saying that the monster Grabs the shield itself and that the PC can automatically escape simply by Releasing the shield.

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

The monster grabs the PC.

1) Nothing in the text states it is negated if the target takes no damage.

2) The target is the PC, not the shield.

Liberty's Edge

Even if the Sheild mitigates all of the Damage from being applied to the PC, the attack still struck them and was by all accounts successful.

You can flavor it however you like really since the Raise Shield action remains in use until the start of your next turn so even if the damage is done just to the Sheild you are still holding onto it until you can spend an action to Unstrap the Shield from your arm. The Action listing for Unstrapping a Shield is listed on Table 6-2: Changing Equipment a 1 Interact Action so that eliminates the prospect the the Character just "Releasing" it.

So in this situation, it could be that the monster grabs the PC "by the Shield" but the net effect is still the same because they gain the Grabbed Condition.

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

By RAW, I disagree you can release the shield to escape the Grabbed condition as it is the PC who is grabbed, not the shield.

However, if you decide by RAI to allow it, remember that unstrapping the shield is an Interact action which means it has the Manipulate trait, therefore the PC must succeed on a DC 5 flat check or the action is lost because of the Grabbed condition.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Sammy T wrote:

By RAW, I disagree you can release the shield to escape the Grabbed condition as it is the PC who is grabbed, not the shield.

However, if you decide by RAI to allow it, remember that unstrapping the shield is an Interact action which means it has the Manipulate trait, therefore the PC must succeed on a DC 5 flat check or the action is lost because of the Grabbed condition.

Welcome back, I see you haven't missed a step.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Grab and Shield Block All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.