Circus Actions


Extinction Curse


So, the actions listed are
Perform a Trick (single action)
Costar (reaction)
Send in the Clowns (single action or reaction)

Can PCs decide to not do anything with their remaining actions? I don't see anything about it in the book and it would make for a pretty boring circus if the performer just decided to stop in the middle of the show. I'd rule for now that they have to spend all three actions but would love to hear what others think about it.


I see each action as a component of their trick. If they want to cut the component out, then that's fine. I've been generally running it that if the players don't want another action to be used then they don't have to. Gain nothing and lose nothing.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Zioalca wrote:

So, the actions listed are

Perform a Trick (single action)
Costar (reaction)
Send in the Clowns (single action or reaction)

Can PCs decide to not do anything with their remaining actions? I don't see anything about it in the book and it would make for a pretty boring circus if the performer just decided to stop in the middle of the show. I'd rule for now that they have to spend all three actions but would love to hear what others think about it.

No, they most definitely need to be able to not use all their actions. That third action (with a -10 penalty) would be brutal to use (unless you have Clowns to cover your failure).

If you need this in writing, check the paragraph just above the guy pulling a rabbit out of a hat (page 62) and the first sentence under Generating Excitement with Tricks (page 63):

Quote:

Just like in combat encounters, each performer in an

act can use up to 3 actions. At least 1 action must be used
to Perform a Trick (page 63); otherwise, each performer
can Costar with another performer, Send in the Clowns,
Perform their Trick again, or skip their remaining actions.
Quote:

Each PC or NPC performing in a circus act must attempt

the following action at least once and up to three times.

So you're definitely meant to be able to choose to only take the action (and roll dice) once if you want to. Perhaps you're the last act of the whole show, and that first check is a success. If it takes you exactly to an equal amount of Excitement and Anticipation, you would want to stop right away, and score a Critical Success for your show.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks Zapp. Appreciate it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Something else worth mentioning as a general rule you can spend two actions to prepare a single action as a reaction. So if you are going first in the act, and dont want to spend your last two actions you could prepare the clowns as a reaction with your last two.


Dire Ursus wrote:
Something else worth mentioning as a general rule you can spend two actions to prepare a single action as a reaction. So if you are going first in the act, and dont want to spend your last two actions you could prepare the clowns as a reaction with your last two.

If your GM allows you to use regular actions (such as the Ready action you're talking about), sure. That said, there's no need to "waste" any actions. You just announce you're not using them, and that's that. No need to explain where those two actions went.

Cheers

PS. Just worth mentioning though: By the RAW you're limited to taking only three sorts of actions during a circus performance: Perform a Trick, Costar and Send in the Clowns. (Probably because performing doesn't operate on a six-second turn scale. I would imagine each circus Act to take at least ten minutes, so circus performances is some kind of intermediate between actions in Encounter mode and activities in Exploration mode. But that's just my guess)


Preparing Send in the Clowns as a reaction I think wouldn't work since you are all supposed to be performing at the same time. It also kind of kills the non-performer role of clown coordinator. Good thoughts on circus actions though.

Developer

Zioalca wrote:

So, the actions listed are

Perform a Trick (single action)
Costar (reaction)
Send in the Clowns (single action or reaction)

Can PCs decide to not do anything with their remaining actions? I don't see anything about it in the book and it would make for a pretty boring circus if the performer just decided to stop in the middle of the show. I'd rule for now that they have to spend all three actions but would love to hear what others think about it.

As others have said, you don't need to use all your actions, and it doesn't mean you're stopping your performance midway through; you're still performing, but neither gain nor lose from it.

That last action is something people often won't want to take at a -10 penalty, but for players who do, the Additional Circus Trait feat here will help!


Ron Lundeen wrote:
That last action is something people often won't want to take at a -10 penalty, but for players who do, the Additional Circus Trait feat here will help!

Of course, if you have Clowns still available (and a Clown Coordinator, and a reaction), you will likely want to use it, since it's basically free Excitement.

(Might sound like an esoteric corner case, but I believe it can happen more frequently than you'd think :-)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

All valid points. I kind of wish the example in the book demonstrated this a bit better. The rogue attempts all three checks and fails his last one while the ranger performs her trick twice and sends in the clowns for her third action to recover from her botched second attempt. Doesn't really show what can be fully done even though the example takes up half the page.

I thoroughly appreciate the clarification and comments.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Extinction Curse / Circus Actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Extinction Curse