Crit failing Phantasmal Killer


Rules Discussion


What happens if a boss 3 levels above me crit fails against Phantasmal Killer? I'm confused as to which part has the incapacitation trait.

Critical Failure The target is so afraid it might die. It must attempt a Fortitude save; if the target fails, it dies. On a successful Fortitude save, the target takes 12d6 mental damage, is fleeing until the end of its next turn, and is frightened 4. This effect has the incapacitation trait.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

The Second Fort Save has the incapacitation trait, but not the initial spell cast.

Basically the boss can't insta-die if they fail the Fort Save, only crit fail

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Crit failing Phantasmal Killer All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.