Questions on Archtypes and General Feats


Rules Discussion


Can you use your general feats, to grab archtype feats?


GM Grog wrote:
Can you use your general feats, to grab archtype feats?

No sir. Archetype Feats are chosen in lieu of Class Feats.

CRB PG. 219 "Archetypes" wrote:
Once you have the dedication feat, you can select any feat from that archetype in place of a class feat as long as you meet its prerequisites.

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Pawns, Rulebook Subscriber

Expect if they are skill feats.

"Occasionally, an archetype feat works like a skill feat instead of a class feat. These archetype feats have the skill trait, and you select them in place of a skill feat, otherwise following the same rules above. These are not archetype class feats (for instance, to determine the number of Hit Points you gain from the Fighter Resiliency archetype feat)."


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Jib916 wrote:

Expect if they are skill feats.

"Occasionally, an archetype feat works like a skill feat instead of a class feat. These archetype feats have the skill trait, and you select them in place of a skill feat, otherwise following the same rules above. These are not archetype class feats (for instance, to determine the number of Hit Points you gain from the Fighter Resiliency archetype feat)."

Fair dues. I forgot those were a thing. Though they are a very specific subset of archetype feats and thus are essentially an exception to the general rule.


Jib916 wrote:

Expect if they are skill feats.

"Occasionally, an archetype feat works like a skill feat instead of a class feat. These archetype feats have the skill trait, and you select them in place of a skill feat, otherwise following the same rules above.

Unfortunately, that may be disallowed by the more formal definition of what you are allowed to take when you gain a general feat. Page 255 says "Each time you gain a general feat, you can select any feat with the general trait whose prerequisites you satisfy." Archetype skill feats like the Zephyr Guard's Know the Beat do not have the general trait, which could lead one to interpret them to not be able to be taken in general feat "slots".

But your interpretation seemed to be the hope of the writer of Know the Beat, as that writer made it a 3rd-level feat instead of 2nd or 4th, and I do share that hope, as a player's willful choice to spend a general feat slot on an archetype skill feat should theoretically be a legal and balanced "downgrade" just like the rules consider it to be for a general skill feat. I just don't know that there's any other 3rd-level archetype skill feat in the game to suggest an agreement with this interpretation.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Questions on Archtypes and General Feats All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.