Mounts and Mature (Ranger) Animal Companion


Rules Discussion

51 to 56 of 56 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I believe that you have made a fair description of my position on the rules. I think it is the more consistent reading, but I agree that it may not be the clearest one. I myself often still have questions, especially with the way the rules seem scattered about the book. This one is complicated by having the rules for animal companions be different from those for other animals.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Quote:
You first need to pass your command an animal check, then in the next action in your initiative your mount would spend its two actions. Then you have one last action left.

In your example you appear to be having the mounted character spend two actions on command an animal? I'm not sure why though.

Command an Animal is a single action activity. So if you Command your animal companion, the PC still have two actions left in the round.

Are you thinking of the Companion's Cry Ranger feat perhaps?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I feel like we have come to a consensus at least. Animal Companions simply do not follow the Mounted Combat rules in the same way as a mundane horse.

Basically, they just share MAP with the rider. That seems to be the only real mechanical change that occurs. Well beyond a non-Mount companion losing the ability to move and support.

This is why the other thread was so interesting to me: sharing MAP is by far the most vague concept at play here. When it applies, if it ever stops applying due to a rider dismounting, or if an animal companion gains the existing MAP of a new rider.

Those seem to be largely left to GM ruling with no clear answer in the book that I can find.

Horizon Hunters

Squiggit wrote:
Quote:
You first need to pass your command an animal check, then in the next action in your initiative your mount would spend its two actions. Then you have one last action left.

In your example you appear to be having the mounted character spend two actions on command an animal? I'm not sure why though.

Command an Animal is a single action activity. So if you Command your animal companion, the PC still have two actions left in the round.

Are you thinking of the Companion's Cry Ranger feat perhaps?

It's because normally for every command an animal sequence two actions are spent. One for command an animal and another for the animal actually acting on the command. In the case of Animal Companions this is a 1-2 exchange and not a 1-1 like normal. However the mounted combat rules appear to make changes to this flow... but may in actuality be keeping things the same with (in my opinion) poorly worded example.s

The differences in interpretation seems to come from all the different mechanics at play and the example being vague.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

So your argument is that... an animal companion must consume one of your own actions in order to act?

That's uh, not right. The Command an Animal action gives your animal actions. One normally, two for minions, three if you have Companion's Cry (except that costs an additional action too). There's no consuming your own actions, you're spending them on a thing and then as part of that thing your companion gains actions they get to use. I'm not even sure where this notion that the animal is using up your own actions even comes from. It's just not something that even exists within the rules even as an idea.

I mean if this is how you want to run it at your table fine, but... that's not what the rules for how animal companions function say at all.

Quote:
but may in actuality be keeping things the same with (in my opinion) poorly worded example

The example is fine. It's just not talking about animal companions.

You're making all of these logical inferences and assumptions about things work but I feel like all you're doing is dizzying yourself by trying to stitch together all of these absurd rulings that lead to features not working properly or rules suddenly ceasing to function. Ultimately it's a lot simpler than that,

because at the end of the day, the rules for animal companions say

Quote:
Your animal companion has the minion trait, and it gains 2 actions during your turn if you use the Command an Animal action to command it; this is in place of the usual effects of Command an Animal

You Command an Animal. Your companion gains two actions. Your companion can do... whatever, twice. You spent one action, so you have two more you can do whatever with... twice. That's it. That's really all it is.

Horizon Hunters

The reason I make the inferences I do is because how the rules are written for mounted combat and the example they show of how they work. I can be very literal on my rule interpretation for better or worse

For the record I was never actually debating that the animal companion did not get two actions.

I could very well be wrong in how I'm seeing it, it has happened before (and will probably happen again) but if we are going by Mellacks interpretation their are some serious issues with how they are presenting information in my opinion.

Not to be down on Paizo because despite it all I love P2 and really appreciate the work they've put behind it. If that is the intended interplay of mounted combat though I feel as if they fell short of their usual mark here.

51 to 56 of 56 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Mounts and Mature (Ranger) Animal Companion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.