Is Mage's Disjunction subject to Dispel Magic?

Rules Questions

This question came up in the General Discussion and thought it'd be an appropriate candidate for some Rules Lawyering.


Let's say a level 20 party of 5 PC's (Bard, Paladin, Druid, Sorcerer, Cleric) has 20 magical items each (100 items total, including but not limited to: bags of holding, wands, weapons, backup weapons, armor, ioun stones, and a host of other knick-knacks and doodads), and they decide to attack an evil level 20 Wizard who has prepared a Mage's Disjunction spell.

The level 20 party confronts the evil Wizard and have recklessly placed themselves all within an 80ft area where they can all be Mage's Disjunctioned at the same time. The evil Wizard casts Mage's Disjunction, destroying 5 magical items due to natural 1 rolls on the save, 50 items have been suppressed for 20 minutes, while the remaining 45 items have successfully made their saves.

All of the party members have access to Greater Dispel Magic except for the Paladin, whom only has access to Dispel Magic.

1) Is Mage's Disjunction subject to Dispel Magic? If so,

2) Could one party member cast an Area-Greater Dispel Magic to remove the effects of the Mage's Disjunction? If not,

3) Would each party member have to spend a single-targeted Dispel Magic for each individual item that was suppressed?

Sovereign Court

Dispel Magic wrote:
You can use dispel magic to end one ongoing spell that has been cast on a creature ... A dispelled spell ends as if its duration had expired. Some spells, as detailed in their descriptions, can't be defeated by dispel magic.

1) Disjunction is a(n area) spell with a duration that doesn't have an exception for Dispel Magic.

Dispel Magic wrote:

Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell

... (same section just further down) ...
You can also use a targeted dispel to specifically end one spell affecting the target or one spell affecting an area (such as a wall of fire).

2/3) Why not the (single) targeted dispel option to target the Disjunction effect itself directly?

1 person marked this as a favorite.

1. Yes, though it won't bring back destroyed magic items.

2. Yes.

3. Maybe. The answer depends on whether that really works depends on whether the dispel behavior from this FAQ is applies to dispelling in general or merely to dispelling via a diametrically-opposed spell. Prior to that FAQ, I would have concluded (per the text of dispel magic) that using a targeted dispel magic on one target and choosing mage's disjunction specifically would have ended the spell on all suppressed creatures and objects. But like many late stage FAQs, that one makes me wonder if my interpretation was incorrect.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is Mage's Disjunction subject to Dispel Magic? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.