Touch Spell


Rules Questions


Hi,

Can you deliver a touch spell to a willing character that is around the
corner of a wall or do you need a direct line of sight?


You can deliver a touch spell to anyone around a corner, but only as long as you touch them.


You have both line of sight and line of effect around corners that you are adjacent to... so I see no issue?


"around the corner" is kind of vague. Are you talking about someone on the opposite side of a wall with a door in the next square over from both of you? Then, no. But if you've got a target standing by the door while you're standing in front of the door or vice versa, then yes.


You don’t have to have line of sight to deliver a touch spell. The only requirement is that you physically touch them.

For example, a blinded caster has line of sight of basically nothing, but can still deliver Touch spells.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

A wall or corner COULD provide concealment and/or cover in some circumstances, and thus make it more difficult to succeed at a touch attack. That said, if the target WANTS to accept the touch then I'd say it should be automatic unless BOTH characters are for some reason unable to see each other at all.


Ryze Kuja wrote:

You don’t have to have line of sight to deliver a touch spell. The only requirement is that you physically touch them.

For example, a blinded caster has line of sight of basically nothing, but can still deliver Touch spells.

This is exactly right.

For that matter, if we're talking about two Medium creatures with normal 5-foot reach in a bog-standard five foot wide corridor on diagonal squares of a bog-standard 90-degree corner, the touching creature has line of sight to the touchee, as the corner provides cover but not total cover.

In less than bog-standard situations, such as weird corridor/wall configurations or unusual reach, use the usual rules for determining cover. As long as the corner doesn't provide total cover to your willing target, you're good to go.


blahpers wrote:
For that matter, if we're talking about two Medium creatures with normal 5-foot reach in a bog-standard five foot wide corridor on diagonal squares of a bog-standard 90-degree corner, the touching creature has line of sight to the touchee, as the corner provides cover but not total cover.

That's my interpretation, too.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.