Mummy Rot


Rules Discussion


In the description of the affliction Mummy Rot, it states that the damage from mummy rot can't be healed until the curse is removed.

Does this mean that after you fail the initial save from the mummy rot affliction, does succeeding the next save not remove the curse and disease (leaving you at stage 1) or are you then recovered from the affliction (going to stage 0). I know making the save will not heal any of the damage you recieved from being at stage 2 and that the damage caused by the affliction can not be healed while you still have Stage 1 or 2.

Horizon Hunters

jakjr15 wrote:

In the description of the affliction Mummy Rot, it states that the damage from mummy rot can't be healed until the curse is removed.

Does this mean that after you fail the initial save from the mummy rot affliction, does succeeding the next save not remove the curse and disease (leaving you at stage 1) or are you then recovered from the affliction (going to stage 0). I know making the save will not heal any of the damage you recieved from being at stage 2 and that the damage caused by the affliction can not be healed while you still have Stage 1 or 2.

Yes I believe failing the initial save means that the next save will not be capable of removing the curse. Also that stage 1 duration is only a minute long so you gotta be fast when counteracting to have a hope of avoiding that stage 2 damage.


Goldryno wrote:
jakjr15 wrote:

In the description of the affliction Mummy Rot, it states that the damage from mummy rot can't be healed until the curse is removed.

Does this mean that after you fail the initial save from the mummy rot affliction, does succeeding the next save not remove the curse and disease (leaving you at stage 1) or are you then recovered from the affliction (going to stage 0). I know making the save will not heal any of the damage you recieved from being at stage 2 and that the damage caused by the affliction can not be healed while you still have Stage 1 or 2.

Yes I believe failing the initial save means that the next save will not be capable of removing the curse. Also that stage 1 duration is only a minute long so you gotta be fast when counteracting to have a hope of avoiding that stage 2 damage.

My interpretation of this then is if you fail your initial save, you will have to make a save every minute until you fail going to Stage 2 or someone counteracts the curse. If at any point you fail one of those saves (which statistically you will even if a nat 1 is the only possible way to fail) you will take the listed damage each day until dead or cured (whichever comes first).

If someone is able to succeed at counteracting the curse, how long does that last? Until the next failed save, for a single save, or 24hrs?

Horizon Hunters

jakjr15 wrote:
Goldryno wrote:
jakjr15 wrote:

In the description of the affliction Mummy Rot, it states that the damage from mummy rot can't be healed until the curse is removed.

Does this mean that after you fail the initial save from the mummy rot affliction, does succeeding the next save not remove the curse and disease (leaving you at stage 1) or are you then recovered from the affliction (going to stage 0). I know making the save will not heal any of the damage you recieved from being at stage 2 and that the damage caused by the affliction can not be healed while you still have Stage 1 or 2.

Yes I believe failing the initial save means that the next save will not be capable of removing the curse. Also that stage 1 duration is only a minute long so you gotta be fast when counteracting to have a hope of avoiding that stage 2 damage.

My interpretation of this then is if you fail your initial save, you will have to make a save every minute until you fail going to Stage 2 or someone counteracts the curse. If at any point you fail one of those saves (which statistically you will even if a nat 1 is the only possible way to fail) you will take the listed damage each day until dead or cured (whichever comes first).

If someone is able to succeed at counteracting the curse, how long does that last? Until the next failed save, for a single save, or 24hrs?

Your interpretation is correct. How I would read it is that if the curse was counteracted then the disease remains until cured. The big boon is that you would be able to heal the damage that gets done so the odds of being turned to sand drops considerably even if you cant immediately be cured of the affliction. At this point Mummy's Rot is following the normal affliction rules. I would say the counteraction itself is permanent.


In this case, what would the DC be to counteract the affliction?

According to the CRB it should appear in the affliction's stat block, so, 22 maybe?

Horizon Hunters

Where are you seeing the 22?

Most affliction in the bestiary only contain condition changes,durations, damage, and the save in their stat block. Going by this I would assume it would be the DC 26 listed as the initial save for Mummy Rot as the only viable option listed in the affliction stat block to be the counteract DC.


I took into consideration the Mummy Guardian, not the Mummy Pharaoh.

I having my doubts whether you should use the DC listed in the Mummy Rot, or the creature level as the Counteracting rules in the CRB say on page 459: "The GM can also calculate a DC based on the target effect’s level".

So according to the DC by Level chart on page 503 of the CRB, it would be also 22.

In the case of the Mummy Pharaoh and according to the same chart, the DC is 26, which matches, one more time, the DC 26 Fortitude saving shrow in the Mummy Rot.

Horizon Hunters

Gotcha. I was looking at Pharaoh. Yeah so either way it matches depending on the Mummy it is coming from.


So how would the dieing rules interact with the disease?

Normally when you reach 0 HP from lethal damage you gain the dieing 1 condition. On your turn if no one heals or stabilizes you, you make a recovery check.

Can the recovery check ever succeed? If you can't heal the damage caused by the curse, does that also include the dieing condition?

If you can removing the dieing condition to gain the wounded condition, does that ever go away from a treat wounds? It wouldn't from being at full HP since you could never get to full HP while still cursed.

Horizon Hunters

jakjr15 wrote:

So how would the dieing rules interact with the disease?

Normally when you reach 0 HP from lethal damage you gain the dieing 1 condition. On your turn if no one heals or stabilizes you, you make a recovery check.

Can the recovery check ever succeed? If you can't heal the damage caused by the curse, does that also include the dieing condition?

If you can removing the dieing condition to gain the wounded condition, does that ever go away from a treat wounds? It wouldn't from being at full HP since you could never get to full HP while still cursed.

Mummy Rot only stipulates that the disease and any damage resulting from it are what cannot be removed which is different from the dying/recovery rules.

Your recovery check could theoretically succeed against a Mummy Guardian's version. The result would you be brought to stable with a wounded condition and 0 hp. Next time you take damage while at 0 hp you'd be back to dying 1 and wounded 1. This would continue until you got healed correctly (by first removing the curse) or you are killed and turned to sand.

I would personally consider interpreting it that since the healing from Treat Wounds could not go through the wounded condition would not be decreased either. That's technically not RAW but would make sense. Another option would be since this is a "cursed wound" to raise the normal treat wounds DC. So someone with mummy rot under constant treatment from a healer could remain unconscious/on the verge of death for awhile as his teammates worked to find them a cure.

Horizon Hunters

Won't allow me to edit so I am going to double post.

I realized some of my wording on the last post was unnecessarily confusing. Both the Mummy Guardian or the Mummy Pharaoh version should work basically the same. The only difference from the two appears to be the DC, damage amounts, and stupefied value. Mechanically they are identical (except one turns you into dust and the other into sand if they kill you) and should work as outlined above. So just ignore where I typed "against a Mummy Guardian's version".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Mummy Rot All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.