firing short bow while grabbed


Rules Discussion


Can someone use a short bow while grabbed, especially against the grabber? Would they have to make the manipulate flat check to be able to reload? In other words, is the reloading still a manipulate action even though it takes 0 actions to perform?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"While all weapons need some amount of time to get into position, many ranged weapons also need to be loaded and reloaded. This entry indicates how many Interact actions it takes to reload such weapons. This can be 0 if drawing ammunition and firing the weapon are part of the same action."

It says, in case of 0 that drawing ammunition and firing the weapon are part of the same action.
So, the action to fire the weapon automatically includes reloading which is an Interact action. As such, DC 5 flat check to not lose your action.
I think it's both a logical reading and in line with RAW.

But clearly, it's not crystal clear.


I would assume that the trait and action are still intended to exist, just that it doesn't cost you an action.

Otherwise they wouldn't have reload 0 and would just have reload 1,2,3


I would say work with logic and decide on how you are grabbed

when grabbed by the leg, sure go for it

in a headlock give a penalty and don't shoot at the grabbing one

if someone grabs you by wrapping the arms around your upper body and arms - well, good luck trying to use a bow - except maybe you can use it with your feet (which is a thing but not exactly easy)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Seisho wrote:

I would say work with logic and decide on how you are grabbed

when grabbed by the leg, sure go for it

in a headlock give a penalty and don't shoot at the grabbing one

if someone grabs you by wrapping the arms around your upper body and arms - well, good luck trying to use a bow - except maybe you can use it with your feet (which is a thing but not exactly easy)

None of that actually comes into play with grabbed it does exactly what it says on the tin

grabbed wrote:
You’re held in place by another creature, giving you the flat-footed and immobilized conditions. If you attempt a manipulate action while grabbed, you must succeed at a DC 5 flat check or it is lost; roll the check after spending the action, but before any effects are applied.

Now restrained is a whole other kettle of fish.


Honestly, the grappling rules in Tabletops always trigger me. They're always so vaguely worded even though the way you're grabbed and the position you're in would completely change the effects of being grabbed.

If a trained fighter is grabbing you shouldn't he be getting underhooks or getting your back? In which case there's a 0 percent chance you're even still holding a bow/capable of using it

if a monster or untrained person is grabbing you it should probably just be like a s~@%ty collar tie or something

Let's not even get onto the issue of slams or shoots.

I really think for actual grappling characters to work the yeventually need to release in depth content and rules on this.


Grabbed in this since and in PF 1 was I have a hand on you, your clothes, or something similar that makes it hard to move and maneuver.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / firing short bow while grabbed All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.