Prepping an NPC with Channel Smite and the harm font.
Does Channel Smite allow a save against the harm spell to reduce that damage, or is the "save" considered part of the attack roll? Like say your harm spell would do 3d10 negative energy damage. You usually get a basic Fort save to resist.
With Channel Smite, is it just a flat 3d10, no resist roll? If I miss, I obviously deal neither weapon nor harm damage, but if I crit the weapon attack roll, is the 3d10 doubled as though the player got the corresponding crit fail result? Is it a flat 3d10 and the crit has no effect?
Or am I overthinking this and they just always roll the Fort save regardless of the results of the base attack? Seems clunky is all. Since the regular spell makes no attack roll, feel like for the same actions you could just swing your weapon then cast the 1-action harm spell for the rough same effect. Only reason Channel Smite seems useful is maybe that it doesn't trigger Attack of Opportunity since you expend the spell, not cast it (per Channel Smite wording). Am I on the right track there?
There is no save. It's not like a Spell Storing weapon which unleashes the spell on a hit. It's instead a damage type added to the Strike.
That's its main advantage, otherwise (as you've noted) missing would be too risky to warrant a feat (especially since the spell has no attack roll.)
The damage would be doubled on a crit, since in PF2 added dice are doubled too.
You're overthinking it by thinking about it as a spell being added to a Strike. It's not, despite a slot being used. The feat's adding equivalent damage to the Strike, not the spell itself. So secondary effects somebody might have tied to Heal/Harm would also not occur, like Cast Down.
|2 people marked this as a favorite.|
There is no distinction there. Heal and harm on provide extra healing to appropriate targets with the 2 action version. DAMAGE dealt by those spells would always be 3d8, never 3d8+24, regardless of the number of actions used in casting.
Cast [one-action] to [three-actions]
Targets 1 living creature or 1 willing undead creature
You channel negative energy to harm the living or heal the undead. If the target is a living creature, you deal 1d8 negative damage to it, and it gets a basic Fortitude save. If the target is a willing undead creature, you restore that amount of Hit Points. The number of actions you spend when Casting this Spell determines its targets, range, area, and other parameters.
[one-action] (somatic) The spell has a range of touch.
[two-actions] (verbal, somatic) The spell has a range of 30 feet. If you’re healing an undead creature, increase the Hit Points restored by 8.
[three-actions] (material, verbal, somatic) You disperse positive energy in a 30-foot emanation. This targets all living and undead creatures in the area.
Heightened (+1) The amount of healing or damage increases by 1d8, and the extra healing for the 2-action version increases by 8.
my question is what damage does it deal? is it for the single action casting or double action casting? 3d8 vs 3d8+24 is a big difference and the feat language itself doesn't really say.
So this is a 3rd level of the spell being expended with the Channel Smite? So this is a 5th level character performing this action since only a 5th level character can cast 3rd level spells, correct?
I wouldn't think a 2-action feat would allow a single-action weapon Strike and a 2-action version spell to be expended. Barring some sort of official change to the RAW, I'd rule it was the single-action expenditure of the spell