Really important question about fear effects


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If someone rolls a 1 on their save vs a fear effect do they soil themselves? Ok, not really important but I can't be the only one who's thought about this.


I mean, I'd say that, if you become Panicked, you do no matter what you rolled. A blind, flee-for-your-life mentality does not lend itself to dignity.

The Exchange

depends on a lot of things...
it is kind of a trope though, so whatever works for you. Just do try not to add this level of realism to your Role Playing (this is another advantage of Table Top vs. LARPs...)


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Yqatuba wrote:
If someone rolls a 1 on their save vs a fear effect do they soil themselves? Ok, not really important but I can't be the only one who's thought about this.

Unless an ability says otherwise, I let players figure out when their characters retain control of bodily functions.


Rolling a 1 is simply an automatic failure and nothing more, everything else that happens after that is GM Fiat territory and the GM can make up whatever he wants. Any additional stuff like "you fail to overcome the fear effect, in fact, you become so overwhelmed with fear..." that you: "...toss your weapons into the river and prostrate yourself before the BBEG", or "...soil yourself, and then break a tooth from your teeth chattering so badly" or "...start sobbing like a small child with a scraped knee while begging for mercy". Any of these are acceptable for the additional GM fiat conditions of a 1 roll on a fear effect :P


Even if your group assigns penalties for rolling a natural 1 it is going to depend on the level of fear. If the fear effect is only causing the shaken condition this is probably not appropriate. If the fear effect is causing the panicked condition then it might be appropriate.


Yqatuba wrote:
If someone rolls a 1 on their save vs a fear effect do they soil themselves? Ok, not really important but I can't be the only one who's thought about this.

Unspecified, but really important. FAQ'd.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Really important question about fear effects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.