On Solar Weapon, Powered Armor, Library Chips and Biohacker Basic Boost


Rules Questions

Acquisitives

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Solar Weapon and Powered Armor

Solar Weapon: You create a weapon out of your mote into your hands
Powered Armor (Medium): Powered armors of Medium or smaller size allow the operator to use its own limbs
Powered Armor (Large or larger size): Powered armors of Large or greater size use their own arms and hands, rather than allowing the user to manipulate objects or weapons with their own hands.

Question: Does this means a Solarian can't use her weapon while sitting in a LARGE or greater powered armor?

---------------------------------------------------------------

Library Chip
You gain a +4 circumstance bonus to skill checks to recall knowledge with that skill when using a library chip in conjunction with a tier-0 computer. **This is a very powerful item for just mere 250 credits

Question: Can you use this in combat? If yes, do we use a FULL ROUND, STANDARD, MOVE or FREE action to use it?

---------------------------------------------------------------

Basic Boost of Biohacker
A basic booster biohack [u]aids a creature[/u] in one manner or another

Question: Can we use the effect on self, since the wording is AIDS a creature.

---------------------------------------------------------------

As the group preferred using RAW and org play rules... Please try to answer with "Rules as Written" unless you're one of the Developers or a brain-worm in the Developers heads

Cheers!


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Solar Weapon and Powered Armor: Of course a Solarian in any size power armor can use the solar weapon. Don’t be so persnickety, Starfinder is basically built around being as permissive as possible.

Library Chip: It says the chip counts as a downloaded data set for using the skill the chip pertains to, so I’d say whatever the actual (or GM) rules would be for using a computer during combat would come into play here. As a note, I would expect table variation, some GMs might say “No, you can’t look up a Wikipedia article while dodging plasma blasts.”

Biohacker Booster: It seems like you’re taking the use of ‘aids a creature’ to mean the same as, say, aiding on a skill check, which you probably shouldn’t be. The booster ‘aids’ whatever the target is by granting 1 of three kinds of enhancements, and there’s no reason why the creature can’t be the biohacker itself. At no point in the rules does it specify it has to be another creature besides the biohacker.


3 people marked this as a favorite.

I agree with the above. A solarian can use a solar weapon in larger power armor, and a biohacker can boost himself.

Regarding the library chip:

Computers Skill wrote:
Computers are set up to give one or more authorized users “root access,” allowing them to access any information or function of the computer as a standard action, with no need for a Computers check.

A standard action is all you need to access the info.

Sczarni

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
Behemecoatyl wrote:
**This is a very powerful item for just mere 250 credits

I have a local GM who believes so as well, but really, discovering information is what uncovers the whole story. Your GM should *want* you to learn as much as possible.

Acquisitives

Thanks everyone.

Quote:
A standard action is all you need to access the info.

End of the day, most GM in my local organised play group agrees. Standard make sense when used in combat. #settled

Quote:
I have a local GM who believes so as well, but really, discovering information is what uncovers the whole story. Your GM should *want* you to learn as much as possible.

Yes! Out of combat use is considered "always on" #settled

Quote:
At no point in the rules does it specify it has to be another creature besides the biohacker.

Quite true. So until otherwise stated by developers... #settled

Quote:
Of course a Solarian in any size power armor can use the solar weapon. Don’t be so persnickety, Starfinder is basically built around being as permissive as possible.

I'm not persnickety & more than happy to allow this when I'm doing a homebrew. In organized play though, different GM have different interpretations, but no one can argue with RAW (Except for that one GM where everyone boycott, but I digress)

Is there anywhere that state/possibly point at a Solar Weapon can be used on a large or greater power armor?

Cheers!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Quote:
Is there anywhere that state/possibly point at a Solar Weapon can be used on a large or greater power armor?

No. No specific statement exists. You need to rely on people being reasonable for that one.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / On Solar Weapon, Powered Armor, Library Chips and Biohacker Basic Boost All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions