Is it possible to get focus spells without focus points?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

If my 2nd-level ranger takes Druid Dedication and Basic Wilding to get Wild Shape, does he get a focus point with which to use it?


I believe the general rule is ‘If this ability costs Focus to use, you get a Focus Point, until you hit three points.’


Ravingdork wrote:
If my 2nd-level ranger takes Druid Dedication and Basic Wilding to get Wild Shape, does he get a focus point with which to use it?

Yes.

CRB, p. 300 wrote:
You automatically gain a focus pool of 1 Focus Point the first time you gain an ability that gives you a focus spell.

So if your Ranger didn't already have a Focus Pool then this feat would grant him one Focus Point.

After the first point, abilities only give you another Focus Point if they specifically state that they do and you have less than three points in your pool.

CRB, p. 300 wrote:
Some abilities allow you to increase the Focus Points in your pool beyond 1. Typically, these are feats that give you a new focus spell and increase the number of points in your pool by 1. Your focus pool can’t have a capacity beyond 3 Focus Points, even if feats that increase your pool would cause it to exceed this number.

So taking Order Magic would grant you a new Focus Spell, but wouldn't get your Ranger a second Focus Point. But taking Wind Caller would get you that second Focus Point because it specifically states that it increases your Focus Pool by one.


Pathfinder Maps, Pawns Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Thanks everyone!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Is it possible to get focus spells without focus points? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.