Hardness and energy damage


Rules Discussion

Dark Archive

Does energy damage bypass hardness or is it reduced to negated if not enough to overcome the hardness?


BOCFiend wrote:
Does energy damage bypass hardness or is it reduced to negated if not enough to overcome the hardness?

As far as I know, energy damage does not bypass hardness. Only effects specifically stating that they bypass hardness do.


It does not negate hardness.

Silver Crusade

Where is the rule that force energy doesn’t go through hardness?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Prethen wrote:
Where is the rule that force energy doesn’t go through hardness?

Your question is backwards. Hardness states that it applies to all damage. There would have to be a rule stating that force damage was an exception.

Why are you assuming that force damage is an exception, until proven orherwise? That does not make any sense, as a way of reading the rules of this system.


Prethen wrote:
Where is the rule that force energy doesn’t go through hardness?
Item Damage wrote:
An item can be broken or destroyed if it takes enough damage. Every item has a Hardness value. Each time an item takes damage, reduce any damage the item takes by its Hardness. The rest of the damage reduces the item’s Hit Points.
Force wrote:
Effects with this trait deal force damage or create objects made of pure magical force.

The rules on item damage don't make any exceptions about hardness reducing damage, and force is not a miraculous damage type that can bypass every resistance, just a damage type that is notoriously hard to defend against. Only special attacks and effect that specificly mention bypassing hardness do, and even then, they rarely bypass it completely.


Prethen wrote:
Where is the rule that force energy doesn’t go through hardness?

You are asking to prove a negative dude.

e.g. where is the rule that says I cannot summon a pokemon by saying "quigglededumrun" during a game and giving the GM a piece of candy?

As said above, the rules say hardness blocks damage. It doesn't say that force is excluded.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The Gleeful Grognard wrote:
Prethen wrote:
Where is the rule that force energy doesn’t go through hardness?

You are asking to prove a negative dude.

e.g. where is the rule that says I cannot summon a pokemon by saying "quigglededumrun" during a game and giving the GM a piece of candy?

As said above, the rules say hardness blocks damage. It doesn't say that force is excluded.

Wait, are you telling me that isn't a rule!? I have some pointed questions for my players.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Hardness and energy damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.