Vanguard Entropic Strike rules confusion


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

I'm a bit confused over the Vanguard's Entropic strike. So page 52 of the rulebook, it says:
" . . . Your entropic strike is a magical one-handed advanced melee weapon with the operative weapon special property that targets EAC . . .You can also deliver an entropic strike with any melee weapon, or any shield that allows you to make unarmed attacks (replacing the normal attack with your entropic strike.) The attack's damage is equal to the entropic strike damage of a vanguard of either your class level or the class level equal to the weapon's item level, whichever is lower. When you use this option, your entropic strike is considered to be made of whatever material the weapon or shield is made of (for the purposes of bypassing DR or creature weaknesses.) Additionally you can apply any weapon special property, critical hit effect, or weapon fusion the melee or shield has to your entropic strike so long as the effect can be applied to a one-handed advanced melee weapon that deals acid or bludgeoning damage doesn't use additional ammunition or charges, and doesn't require information beyond that specified for your entropic strike to function.

Does this mean that I can run around with, a non-operative weapon and treat it as an operative weapon when using my entropic strike?

Let's make it a bit more concrete. Let's say I have Diffuse Hardlight Handwraps (Item level 5, 1d6 damage, with the force effect). These don't have the operative special weapon property. While wearing the handwraps, can I activate them and give my entropic strikes the force effect while they still count as operative (They can be applied to a one-handed weapon, they don't use additional charges i.e. no boost, and force effects can be applied to a bludgeoning weapon.)

Or . . . I dunno. How do you use your entropic strike with a weapon in hand?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Yes, you take the properties from the weapon (in this case force) and append them to the statistics of your ES (which includes the operative property. )

Scarab Sages

HammerJack wrote:
Yes, you take the properties from the weapon (in this case force) and append them to the statistics of your ES (which includes the operative property. )

Thank you.


Another question on this -

You use a weapon that normally does Fire damage with Burn 1D6 on a crit.

You critical with this weapon using Entropic Strike. What type of damage is the Burn?

Fire or Acid?

Two different sentences that I can see it being applied either way.

Damage types the Enropic Strike does -
For each attack, you can deal acid damage, bludgeoning damage, or both.

Additionally, you can apply any weapon special property, critical hit effect...

Scarab Sages

Matt2VK wrote:

Another question on this -

You use a weapon that normally does Fire damage with Burn 1D6 on a crit.

You critical with this weapon using Entropic Strike. What type of damage is the Burn?

Fire or Acid?

Two different sentences that I can see it being applied either way.

Damage types the Enropic Strike does -
For each attack, you can deal acid damage, bludgeoning damage, or both.

Additionally, you can apply any weapon special property, critical hit effect...

It strangely enough, does fire damage I think. The ATTACK DAMAGE is acid, but the effect of the critical is burn. The burn critical effect isn't damage from an attack, that's a consequence of the burn critical which you stole from (insert weapon here.)


Thinking you might be correct there.

Since you could make that Entropic Strike deal just Bludgeoning Damage. A critical burn would then be hard to call it as acid damage in this case. So would need to fall back on normal Burn damage.


I've got another question for part:
"you can apply any weapon special property, critical hit effect, or weapon fusion the melee or shield has to your entropic strike so long as the effect can be applied to a one-handed advanced melee weapon that deals acid or bludgeoning damage"

What effects can be applied to a one-handed advanced mele weapon? Is there any list?
Can I use grapple and throttle from "Basic mele two-handed, Garrote, wire, Special: Analog, conceal, grapple, operative, throttle" even if it is two handed?

If no can i use trip, reach, disarm from "Advanced mele, one-handed Taclash, standard Special: Analog, disarm, nonlethal, reach, trip"?


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Vareth wrote:

I've got another question for part:

"you can apply any weapon special property, critical hit effect, or weapon fusion the melee or shield has to your entropic strike so long as the effect can be applied to a one-handed advanced melee weapon that deals acid or bludgeoning damage"

What effects can be applied to a one-handed advanced mele weapon? Is there any list?
Can I use grapple and throttle from "Basic mele two-handed, Garrote, wire, Special: Analog, conceal, grapple, operative, throttle" even if it is two handed?

If no can i use trip, reach, disarm from "Advanced mele, one-handed Taclash, standard Special: Analog, disarm, nonlethal, reach, trip"?

There is not a list of all effects that can be applied to a one-handed advanced melee weapon. Nor does there need to be an exhaustive list. Trying to create one would be a wasted effort. If a fusion were to be created later that, for example, could only be used on a 2 handed melee weapon, or a fusion that is only for shields, it would be ineligible.

Remember, a general rule like "you can apply any weapon special property, critical hit effect, or weapon fusion the melee or shield has to your entropic strike so long as the effect can be applied to a one-handed advanced melee weapon that deals acid or bludgeoning damage" does NOT have to be referring to specific options that are already published.

None of the properties of a garrote or a taclash have any rules that would prevent them from being used with entropic strike.

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Vareth wrote:

I've got another question for part:

"you can apply any weapon special property, critical hit effect, or weapon fusion the melee or shield has to your entropic strike so long as the effect can be applied to a one-handed advanced melee weapon that deals acid or bludgeoning damage"

What effects can be applied to a one-handed advanced mele weapon? Is there any list?
Can I use grapple and throttle from "Basic mele two-handed, Garrote, wire, Special: Analog, conceal, grapple, operative, throttle" even if it is two handed?

If no can i use trip, reach, disarm from "Advanced mele, one-handed Taclash, standard Special: Analog, disarm, nonlethal, reach, trip"?

I think that line is in there so that you don’t try to do deliberately wacko things, like add full auto to your fists.


VampByDay wrote:


I think that line is in there so that you don’t try to do deliberately wacko things, like add full auto to your fists.

The Qi Adept already does that.

Nobody knows how it works.


Thanks for all answers.
I've got next one for you all and I think it's easy.
"Your entropic strike is a magical one-handed advanced melee weapon"
That means that I can take Weapon Focus (Advanced Mele Weapon) feat and get +1 to all entropic strikes - right?

Scarab Sages

Vareth wrote:

Thanks for all answers.

I've got next one for you all and I think it's easy.
"Your entropic strike is a magical one-handed advanced melee weapon"
That means that I can take Weapon Focus (Advanced Mele Weapon) feat and get +1 to all entropic strikes - right?

100% correct.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Vanguard Entropic Strike rules confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.